Do Try This At Home: Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Warm Caramel Sauce

December 29, 2008

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS HAS MOVED!

Please come visit the shiny new home of DDD by clicking here.

 

breadpud4

A few of you asked for the Pumpkin Bread Pudding recipe about which I posted yesterday. Since I wasn’t entirely thrilled with the pumpkin bread on its own, and I was most assuredly dissatisfied with the sweetened condensed milk (the base for the caramel sauce) on its own, I hadn’t intended to post the recipe.

But you know what they say about the sum of individual parts. . . despite the haphazard way the dish came together, it ended up being a winner, so I’ll try to reconstruct the recipe here.  It was a huge hit and would make a spectacular New Year’s Eve dessert served in wine or martini glasses.

[BIG caveat:  I didn’t take notes while making this, so you may have to play with proportions a bit, particularly with the caramel sauce. Results may vary.]

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Warm Caramel Sauce (GF option)

breadpud3

With pumpkin in both the bread and the “custard” in which it bakes, this pudding is definitely rich in pumpkin.  Lightly spiced, this moist bread pudding is highlighted with a rum-infused caramel sauce. 

FOR THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

27 Responses to “Do Try This At Home: Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Warm Caramel Sauce”

  1. Shelby Says:

    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! I just made Pumpkin Bread today so in the next couple says this will be in my tummy =)


  2. YAY!! Thank you! I think I’m heading over to Shelby’s because a little bird told me she was going to make this today! :)

  3. VeggieGirl Says:

    SCORE on sharing the recipe!! I luv ya, Ricki :-D

  4. Vegetation Says:

    YAY! I can’t WAIT to make this one! I LOVE pumpkin and pumpkin bread!!!

  5. bex Says:

    this looks so lovely and tasty. We have a big project at work to complete this Sunday night and this is just the thing to bring to keep everyone happies.

  6. ttfn300 Says:

    wow, something that looks that good? should be illegal! not to serve it to me, that is :) delightful!

  7. Johanna Says:

    So glad you posted this as it looks scrumptious – especially with the carmel sauce

  8. melody Says:

    Looks delicious…

  9. Gina Says:

    Yum….pumpkin bread pudding alone sounds fabulous :)

  10. Celine Says:

    it would be 125% ideal if someone would whip up this delight for me, like, right now.

  11. Lauren Says:

    Another droolworthy photo! I won’t deny fighting temptation to lick that caramel sauce off the screen. ;)

  12. jessy Says:

    thank you, Ricki! squeeeeeeeeeeeeee!


  13. I’m keeping our non-fruit dessert-eating down to 1 recipe per week right now, and this week’s is Karina’s vegan chocolate tort, but this looks fabulous, Ricki! So tempting. :D

  14. Kiersten Says:

    This sounds delicious. I never get sick of new pumpkin recipes.

  15. Maggie Says:

    Great looking dish! I’ve been searching for a condensed milk recipe with soy milk that doesn’t just use cornstarch to get the same consistency. I have to make some and give it a try in other recipes. I bet it tastes great made with almond milk!

  16. Sarah Says:

    Looks great. I can’t wait to try it. Did you consider using Coconut milk instead the condensed milk?

  17. BitterSweet Says:

    Mm, that photo has me drooling!

  18. Katie Says:

    I would eat this any time of day!

  19. Lisa Says:

    Thanks for posting this! What a great way to use some of the pumpkin puree I have in the freezer.

    Best wishes for the New Year Ricki!


  20. I think I gained 5 pounds from the photo. Wow!

  21. shellyfish Says:

    I can’t wait to be back in my own home (and kitchen) so I can try this! Beautiful, and I’m sure, delicious!

  22. Ashley Says:

    Ooo yummy yummy! I’m sure I would love this. I had no idea you could make condensed soymilk (though I guess that makes sense).

  23. Joy Tienzo Says:

    This looks delicious. I love bread pudding and can’t wait to try it!


  24. […] – Pumpkin bread pudding with caramel sauce. (via diet, dessert & dogs) […]

  25. Joann Says:

    Hi Ricki,

    I very much enjoyed spending a long time browsing through your wonderful blog. i do have a question, where do you suggest I can purchase all the different types of flour and grain you add in your recipes? I live in Brooklyn, NY and there is a limit to wholesome resources.
    Thank you and best,
    Joann


  26. […] Pumpkin Bread Pudding With Warm Caramel Sauce Recipe from Diet, Dessert, and Dogs […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

