Sweet Potato for My Sweetheart: Spiked Sweet Potato Truffles or Truffle Cups

February 9, 2009

[Diet, Dessert and Dogs has moved!  If you're reading this page, you've landed on the old site.  Please visit the new location by clicking here--and don't forget to update your readers and blogrolls!

As always, thanks for reading.  I look forward to seeing you at the shiny new Diet, Dessert and Dogs!

"Um, Mum, we are coming with you, aren't we? Because (and sorry to have to tell you this), we actually have more fans than you do on this blog."]  

trufflesinglewhole

Are you looking forward to V-Day next week?  Seems most people either love it or hate it.  Being from the “never too much schmaltz” school of romance, I love Valentine’s Day.  Even during all those years before I met the HH, I’d always endeavor to celebrate somehow.  I’d send cards to my friends or my sisters.  I’d invite a gal pal for dinner so we could sip Shiraz together and muse about how few good men there were out there.  One year, I think I even bought myself roses (must have been my “I am woman, hear me roar” phase).

Last year, I composed a fairly elaborate (and, as I recall, extremely disorderly) meal for the HH and me.  Given my frenetic schedule these days working on the book (the Index is done!  The book has officially moved from the “writing” to the “production” stage! Whoo!), I assumed I’d have no time to repeat last year’s amorous performance (I meant preparing the meal, silly!  You crazy romantics, you!). But then I saw Susan’s post about this year’s Vegetable Love contest, and how could I resist?  (Not that I find Fatfree Vegan Kitchen’s charms any more alluring than those of the HH, you understand). 

The contest asks you to create a romantic dish using one or more vegetables of your choice.  Last year, I came up with a Vegan Molten Chocolate Cake recipe using puréed zucchini and spinach.  I loved the taste of the cakes, but the molten filling was temperamental–sometimes it formed a lovely, floating cloud of lava in the center of the cake, as it was supposed to do; other times, the filling got sucked up by the batter and all that remained was a tiny disk of tar-like chocolate at its core.  You’d think I’d give up on sweets with veggies in them.  But no. . .

truffleinside

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, sweet potatoes are my favorite vegetable.  I love sweet potatoes in just about anything (or, as I’ve seen the phrase skipping around the blogosphere lately, I lurrrve sweet potatoes).  When I was on the anti-candida diet several years ago, sweet potatoes became my favorite veggie (and my favorite brekkie).  They’re a healthy vegetable.  They’re orange.  They’re sweet.  And their name sounds like a term of endearment:  “Oh, why so coy, my little Sweet Potato?  Come on over here and let me help you out of that peel.”  Why not use them as the basis for a sweet filling in a Valentine’s Day truffle, then?

trufflecup

This year’s recipe really should have made it into the cookbook–it’s that good.  What you’ll end up with is an insanely creamy, smooth, rich-tasting truffle filling,  vibrantly orange and steeped in citrus flavor. In fact, no one would ever guess it contained one of the world’s healthiest roots.  I fed 0ne of these beauties to the HH, and he literally licked his fingers clean, enthusing, “This tastes exactly like a really fine quality, high-end chocolate!”  This from a guy who’d normally consume chocolates with cream, butter and white sugar.  “There is no trace of sweet potato flavor in these,” he went on. “All you taste is the orange” (enhanced with a splash of Cointreau–though you can use orange juice if you prefer alcohol-free confections). 

Even if you’re not into chocolates, the filling on its own makes a fabulous, versatile frosting.  Rich and fluffy, sweetened with agave and boasting the added fiber of the sweet potato, I’m guessing that the total GI (glycemic index) of this  frosting is fairly low and could be used successfully by those on a variety of restricted diets. (See instructions in the Variation, below).

swpotfrosting

I’ll definitely be making these again for V-Day (the half-batch I concocted is already long gone). Even if you don’t celebrate the Big V, it’s worth making a batch of these.  Give yourself a little gift of Vegetable Love this year.

This is my submission to Susan’s contest.  You have until tomorrow at midnight to enter if you’re so inclined!

Spiked Sweet Potato Truffles or Truffle Cups

TO VIEW THE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

truffleplate61

TO VIEW THE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

trufflecups

TO VIEW THE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

© 2009 Diet, Dessert and Dogs

76 Responses to “Sweet Potato for My Sweetheart: Spiked Sweet Potato Truffles or Truffle Cups”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    ARE YOU SERIOUS?!?!??! How freaking innovative are those truffles/truffle cups!! Love you, Ricki :-D


  2. so creative!! And I love the peachy potato color against the chocolate.

  3. Vegyogini Says:

    I suppose those wouldn’t make it as long as it’d take the Canadian post to get me a batch, right? Well, then I’ll just have to make them for myself! What a fantastic recipe, Ricki! I believe you’ve really outdone yourself this time.

  4. Shelby Says:

    I can’t even think of any words to describe this…you are amazing Ricki!!!


  5. Sweet potato TRUFFLES?! Not only does that sound amazingly delicious, it’s also amazingly creative!

  6. ttfn300 Says:

    omg, you continue to bust out things i need to make! although i did finally purchase some virgin coconut oil at the store this afternoon!

  7. SusanV Says:

    These look totally fantastic! I love the look and sound of the fluffy orange filling nestled in that chocolate shell. Wow, Ricki, just when I think I’ve OD’d on chocolate, you’ve got me craving more!


  8. OMG! I can’t believe it! I was actually hoping to make carrot truffles for Susan’s contest! We are so on the same wavelength lately it’s scaring me :)

    I ran out of time, but am so glad you jumped in there as those look AWESOME!


  9. [...] Sweet Potato Truffles from Diet, Dessert and Dogs [...]

  10. Kiersten Says:

    Wow, those sound delicious. I love sweet potatoes too. I never tried them with chocolate though.

  11. Ricki Says:

    VeggieGirl,
    Never been more serious. (And the feeling is mutual). ;)

    Lisa,
    I figured the color would reflect the predominantly orange flavor, as well!

    Vegyogini,
    I know, darned postal system! But making things oneself is infinitely more satisfying, no? (Well, we’ll tell ourselves that, anyway!)

    Shelby,
    Aww, thanks! I had fun creating them. :)

    CCV,
    They really do taste like truffles, too! And I’m not surprised you like the chocolate aspect, of course! ;)

    ttfn300,
    Yay! Hope you like the coconut oil. And here’s a recipe you can even try with it! :)

    SusanV,
    Thanks so much! The chocolate does come through, surprisingly, and makes a nice match for the orange flavor.

    Alisa,
    That is so funny! I actually considered carrot at first, but then thought, since sweet potatoes are my favorite, I had to go with them. Your pretzels did look amazing, however!!

    Kiersten,
    I had never tried them with chocolate either, I have to admit–but I really enjoyed the outcome!

  12. Johanna Says:

    These look fantastic! If I had a little more energy for valentine’s day I would be tempted – oh and I feel I probably shouldn’t be making too much sweet temptation for E as he has a dentist appt in the morning of V Day. Wonderful photos too! If you keep creating such wonderful desserts a vol 2 of your cookbook will be needed before long!

  13. Astra Libris Says:

    OH my goodness, I’m absolutely in raptures… Sweet potatoes are one of my favorites too, and I’ve always claimed (to the disbelieve of many others, sadly) that a baked sweet potato with just a bit of cinnamon tastes like dessert to me… and now you’ve created the perfect sweet potato dessert indeed! You. Are. Brilliant. I wish you could see how excited I am – I’m bouncing up and down with biggest smile ever, just imagining now luscious these taste!

  14. Liz Says:

    Veggie Girl took the words right out of my mouth — ARE YOU SERIOUS!?!? These look absolutely amazing Ricki! Brilliant is the word that comes to mind.

    I cannot wait to make them.

    And I’m totally referring to the A-man as my “little sweet potato” next time I see him. :)

  15. Vegan_Noodle Says:

    Wow, Ricki, that is awesome! I love V-day even if it is kinda cheesy. Sweet potato truffles are genius. Sounds like a winner to me!


  16. my god those look to die for!!!!

    i love sweet potatoes… and what girl doesnt love chocolate!!!

    gosh you got it all together in oneee :)

  17. Chris Says:

    Sweet potato and chocolate should appear together more frequently in desserts because these look and sound divine! Somehow, I have no more words for this – my mind is already wandering and lamenting the fact that one of these truffles is not in my mouth right now. (Seriously they look that great).

  18. Georgia Says:

    I just have 3 words… oh my goodness!! That looks so amazing. I think I know what I want to make nat for valentines day!!!

  19. shellyfish Says:

    I’m so glad to hear you’re making progress on the book! And these are pure genius! You’re a culinary rock star, seriously. I haven’t been over to Susan V’s blog in ages, I need to check out the V-day extravaganza!

  20. Jamie Says:

    These really look amazing! Just perfect! And thanks for the dipping step-by-step how-to!

  21. holler Says:

    That is an absolutely brilliant idea Ricki and you will never guess! I bought a bag of sweet potatoes last night, with no idea of what I was going to do with them. I have dark chocolate too, now I just have to figure out how I could replace some of the vegan ingredients with veggie ones I have. Any tips?

  22. limeandlemon Says:

    Love this idea … looks absolutely delicious .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  23. Ricki Says:

    Holler,
    As to vegetarian substitutions, I’m not entirely sure. You could try butter for the coconut oil, but I’m not sure it would react exactly the same way. I can’t think of anything for agave except honey (but I fear the taste of honey would be a bit too overpowering in these). Not much help, eh? Of course you could always use AP flour for the spelt–but keep in mind that spelt is lighter than AP, so you’d need less. Let me know if you give it a whir (literally!) ;)

  24. Courtney Says:

    Brilliant! How do you come up with these things?! Seriously! These sound amazing…I am envisioning myself just eating the sweet potato filling straight up, actually. But I know it will be even better with the chocolate! I am making these this weekend for sure :o)

    Courtney

  25. Liesl Says:

    These sound amazing!!!!

  26. jessy Says:

    this has got to be the most glorious thing ever! hands down. oh my gosh – wow!

    i think i’m pretty much speechless!

    mmmmmmm!

  27. Kelly Says:

    I love how creative you are. I never would have thought to do such things with sweet potato. Those are truly drool worthy.

  28. BitterSweet Says:

    Wow, how creative! I must remember this recipe for the future… it has so much potential! Thanks for sharing. :)

  29. ziabaki Says:

    Wowie zowie! These sound complete amazing! I love sweet potato too and did a really fun article on it this fall. (I write a food column for a small local newspaper.) I can’t wait to try these! Love your blog, glad to find it. Excellent pictures! Come over and visit mine sometime.
    http://danazia.wordpress.com/2008/11/22/a-new-twist-on-sweet-potatoes/

  30. Sal Says:

    Sweet potato truffles – love it!! I love the idea of using it as cupcake frosting too, gonna have to try that!

  31. Gina Says:

    You are too creative for me…but I still love it!! My husband adores sweet potatoes…don’t tell him you posted this recipe, haha. Maybe next year!

  32. Diann Says:

    These are absolutely stunning. You are a true sweetheart!

  33. Heather Says:

    gorgeous!!! how creative!!!! i totally love it!! and how cute are those little designs on top of the truffles!?!?!

  34. melody Says:

    Oh My God. That looks amazing.


  35. This is sweet potato at its best! I lurrrve the combination of sweet potato and chocolate! The lips on top of the one truffle are my favorite!

    YAY for the book being in production!! In case I don’t “see you” by then, Happy Valentine’s Day!! :)

  36. Nancy/n.o.e Says:

    I love sweet potatoes in any form, too. Sweet or savory, baked, mashed, braised. Inside truffles is a new one, but looks amazing.

  37. Anonymous Says:

    Intriguing! I will have to try these…

  38. Vegetation Says:

    I was never one for Valentines Day. And then I happened to meet my (now) husband on Valentines and to keep in with when we met we got married on Valentines Day, so now it is cause for a celebration (and yes, I feel kind of pathetic that I got married on Valentines day but I can’t help when I met him :P).

    These look absolutely fabulous! And what do you know? I just happen to have some leftover mashed up sweet potato around ;)

    Happy Valentines Day to you and the HH :D

  39. Hayley Says:

    This recipe is genius. You never fail to amaze me with flavor combinations and techniques. I’m definately trying this out over the weekend. Thanks!

  40. Jennifer Says:

    These truffles are so amazingly creative and delicious looking they make me want to cry a little! With Joy, of course! Thanks for the inspiration!

  41. Jay Says:

    Wow! You always impress me with your awesome creative recipes! I never made truffles before and I think I really want to try your recipe!

  42. Mel Says:

    OMG!! two of my favorite things all in one!! One day I will make these.. for now I will just drool over the photo!! You totally have my vote (and i’ve added you to my blog reader!)

  43. vegwife Says:

    OMG! Chocolate-covered sweet potatoes… you’re killing me! I will HAVE to try these!! Two of my favorite foods! :-D

  44. Alicia Says:

    These truffles are beautiful! Inside and out. I love the color of the insides. I will definitely be making these.
    Thanks for checking out my celery roses.

  45. Courtney Says:

    Ricki–

    I just voted for you on the fat free vegan site :o) Good luck!

    Courtney

  46. Ricki Says:

    Johanna,
    Poor E–a dentist appointment on V-Day! I’m not thinking of vol 2 at the moment. . . let’s get Vol 1 finished first!!

    Astra Libris,
    I agree, a baked sweet potato with cinnamon IS dessert! And I’m glad you liked these–wish I could share them with you!

    Liz,
    I can’t wait to hear what the A-man thinks about that!! (Now Henry might be another story. . .) :)

    Vegan Noodle,
    Cheesy? Aw, come on, it’s ROMANTIC!! Well, glad you liked the truffles, anyway ;)

    Vegan on Stage,
    Yep, gotta love chocolate! And I do like the two colors together ;)

    Chris,
    Thanks so much! I also like that color combo–more like art than dessert!

    Georgia,
    Thanks so much! Let me know how you both like them if you do make them!

    Shellyfish,
    Oh, you should visit Susan’s blog–always such great recipes! Culinary rock star?? I’ll gladly take that moniker (now if only I could actually sing) ;)

    Jamie,
    Thanks so much for your comment! Glad you liked the dipping info. :)

    Holler,
    Hope the subs work out! Let me know. :)

    Laila,
    Thanks so much, and for your comment!

    Courtney,
    I did eat the filling on its own, which is when I realized that, whipped, it made a great frosting. The HH had 2 cupcakes with it on top! Can’t wait to hear how they work out for you. :)

    Liesl,
    Thanks so much, and for your comment!

    Jessy,
    Aw, thanks! (Hope you still feel that way once you eat them! ;) ).

    Kelly,
    Thanks–so glad you think so! But to me, pretty much anything with chocolate is worth eating. ;)

    Bittersweet,
    Thanks! I can’t wait to see how you adapt and evolve the idea! :)

    ziabaki,
    Thanks so much for your comment, and for reading! Glad you like the blog. I’ll leave a comment on yours after I visit, too. :)

    Sal,
    If you’re not into the whole messy chocolate thing, the frosting on its own is still yummy. :)

    Gina,
    No such thing as TOO creative, is there? (Well, maybe. . .). My husband had no idea there was sweet potato in the truffles. . .they taste like orange. :)

    Happy Herbivore,
    You are too much! ;)

    Diann,
    That makes my day–thanks!! :)

    Heather,
    Thanks so much! And I have to admit, the little designs were fun to do .:)

    Melody,
    Thanks!

    River,
    I lurrrve your comments! And hope your VD (ie, Valentine’s Day, that is!!) is great, too. Can’t wait to see what YOU whip up for the occasion!

    Nancy,
    I’m with you on the sweet potato love. New for me, too, but I will be making these again for sure.

    Anonymous,
    Thanks so much! Hope you enjoy them if you do try them. :)

    Vegetation,
    What a great, romantic story–love it! And thanks for the V Day wishes–it sounds as if yours is always a good one! :)

    Hayley,
    Thanks so much! Let me know what you think if you do try it out. :)

    Jennifer,
    Don’t cry! Just eat. ;)

    Jay,
    I can’t wait to see what you do with these–your presentation and photos are always so gorgeous!

    Mel,
    Thanks so much! I really enjoyed reading your blog, too–very inspiring. And the truffles can wait! :)

    vegwife,
    Thanks so much, and for your comment! Let me know what you think if you do try them out.

    Alicia,
    Thanks so much! Hope you enjoy them. And even though I’m not a fan of celery, yours were beautiful! :)

    Courtney,
    You are too sweet–thank you so much! :) :)

  47. cleanveggiex3 Says:

    stunning. those all sound soooo delicious.
    if only I was a talented baker. haha

  48. Shvetha Says:

    Oh my god! This is the most innovative truffle I have every come across! When’s your book being published?? :-)

  49. Em Says:

    holy guacamole this looks TO DIE FOR. My 2 favorite foods: yams and dark chocolate. Thank you is all I can say.

  50. jenitreehugger Says:

    AWESOME!!!
    What a creative combination.These are so on my list of things to make – they look so good and I LOVE the colour.
    Good luck! :)

  51. Kate Says:

    I wandered over to your website after the incredibly kind comments you left on my VL post (eggplant Marsala). I really liked the looks of your truffles on Susan’s website, but now I’m overwhelmed by that sweet potato frosting. I promised the hubby lemon bars for Valentine’s Day, but I have a new project now when those are gone. THANKS!! :)

  52. Sasha Says:

    Those look amazing! I wonder if I can trick my husband into liking sweet potatoes….

  53. Winnie Says:

    I have never seen anything like these- so innovative and so delicious looking!
    I am a huge sweet potato fan too so I am excited to make these.
    Thanks so much for the beautiful idea- this is my new favorite food blog and I can’t wait for your cookbook to come out!

  54. giz Says:

    Pretty darned creative and I like that it’s made with spelt flower – even my brother would eat this….and that would be the highest of compliments.

  55. Dana Stacy Says:

    Yes, yes, yes, ditto all the above!!!

    And just wanted you to know that your recent cookies give-away inspired me to start reducing my ginormous cookbook collection. So, the first is up for grabs end of February. Thanks for your act of kindness — I’m trying to keep that ball rolling :)

  56. Lysy Says:

    These look SO intriguing I’m going to add them straight to my ‘to-bake’ list! You must have a crazy genius mind! Congrats on the cookbook going so well too :)

  57. Katey Says:

    These are great! I just tried the recipe and they turned out amazing. Thanks for the creative idea!

  58. Chelsea Says:

    I just came across your website searching for another wonderful way to use sweet potatoes and I am so happy!!! These look wonderful! I can only find whole spelt flour..I’ve looked at your page on substitutions and you suggest adding an addition 2 Tablespoon per cup. Do you think I should do that with this recipe?! Thanks!

    • Ricki Says:

      Chelsea,
      I bet these would be fine with the same amount of whole spelt, as there is so little to begin with. The only problem I foresee is that whole spelt has more fiber and can be a bit rough-textured, so the filling of the truffles may end up a bit coarse and not as silky smooth. I’d even be inclined to try a different flour altogether–all purpose if you can eat it (use about a teaspoon less), or even something like barley flour or sorghum. Let me know how they work out!

  59. Chelsea Says:

    Wow….You are GENIUS! I made them yesterday with whole spelt flour and they are absolutely wonderful! I can’t wait to try more of your recipes! :)

  60. Maggie Says:

    I love it used as frosting! I have to make some cupcakes and try that. Congrats on win too!

  61. Amber Says:

    These look amazing, and I have everything on hand to try them..except agave. Can I substitute maple syrup? Or is that just the wrong way to go?

    • Ricki Says:

      Amber,
      I’m sure maple syrup would taste great in these–it might be just a bit softer because agave is a little heavier than maple syrup, but if you’re using the chocolate cup option, that won’t be a problem. If you try the truffles, I might suggest decreasing the amount by a tablespoon when you use maple syrup instead of agave to compensate for the difference in texture. Let me know how they come out if you do give them a try! :)

  62. notquitevegan Says:

    Ricki, you’re brilliant! I don’t even like baking, but I think I’ll try these. And thank you, btw, for all your work — now that I’m dating a gluten-and-lactose-intolerant I find your site more useful than ever.

  63. Ashley Says:

    These look so awesome Ricki! You have the best creations. And you made the truffles so cute with the designs on the top. =)

  64. Anne Says:

    I made these and they were a hit, even with the “I don’t like chocolate” crowd! Mine didn’t look so pretty, and I ended up with a lot more, but they still tasted great! I don’t think I let the flour/agave reduce enough so I ended up with 2x as much filling. I’ll definitely try again.

    • Ricki Says:

      Anne,

      I’m so glad they were a hit! Mine were actually pretty large, so it’s possible that your filling was just the right amount and your truffles were just a bit smaller. :)

  65. Lisa Says:

    Ricki, you have outdone yourself. Pure brilliance!

  66. Tram Le Says:

    You are so creative! Sweet potatoes are my fave and I never thought to use them in truffles or frosting! I am so glad I found your site!

    http://nutritiontokitchen.wordpress.com

  67. Chou Says:

    I’m really excited about this–such a brilliant use of a veggie. :)

  68. Olivia Says:

    I have never thought to put sweet potatoes in a truffle. YUM

  69. Lisa Says:

    These are really amazing! I noticed them on the Vegetable Love round-up after I had missed the deadline. They are a little like a Japanese sweet I’ve been wanting to make and are highly inspirational. And that frosting! I love the texture you achieved. Fabulous post.

  70. beth Says:

    I used this frosting on a modified version of a clementine cake from Vegan yum-yum, and served it to a bunch of veggie-skeptic boys, and they loved it. Great frosting!

  71. Andrea Says:

    I think I am in love with you. :-) The frosting is chilling. Part of it my children are already eating, they are dipping strawberries in it. Part of it it’s going to be made in truffles. Yum yum!

  72. Misao Kiley Says:

    I just made these. They turned out very delicious and my family really liked them. However, I found that almost no amount of freezing could make the fillings firm enough to dip into the melted chocolate. Instead, we drizzled the chocolate over the cold lumps of filling and returned them to the ice cave. Hoping for the best- hoping they well stay firm!

    I have no idea how you managed to make them look so pretty in your photos- but fantastic job. Although, next time I think I will only use this recipe as a frosting. Or perhaps try them as the cups- those are very pretty too!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

