Blog Magnet

November 21, 2007

Does this happen to all new bloggers?  I come up here to my (still chaotic, after the move) office, intending to do work, and end up sitting for over an hour reading other blogs.  If I’m not reading other blogs, I’m reading about blogs, looking for answers to my (many) questions on WordPress’s FAQ. 

I’m learning about a whole new world of incredible writers and fascinating people, so many of whom seem to be connected to each other.  Having done this for less than a month, I’m already familiar with so many blogs that seem to appear on almost every blogroll:  Smitten Kitchen, Orangette, 101 Cookbooks, The Wednesday Chef, Kalyn’s Kitchen, Becks and Posh, and, of course, the piece de resistance, the one that started it all, the very apex of cooking blogs, Chocolate and Zucchini.  There are more, there are so many more. . . how to find the time to read them all? And how do all these people find each other?

 And yet, I am inexorably drawn to reading them, so enjoy immersing myself in this strange, isolated-yet-connected, online world.  I still have much to learn, about RSS feeds and avatars (I think that’s what they’re called) and widgets and trackbacks (still can’t figure out what the heck those are) and everything else blog-related.  I just discovered NaBloPoMo (which, at first, my murky memory rendered as “NaMoFoBlo”–how rude of me!), and am so sorry that I’m too late to qualify (unless I cheat, which I won’t). 

Ah, so much to learn.  And so little time.  Now, for instance, I must reluctantly turn to the 200-plus assignments that await marking.  And I think I could use some chocolate.

And by the way, Happy Thanksgiving to my American cousins. . . both literal and figurative.🙂

4 Responses to “Blog Magnet”

  1. sam Says:

    Hey Ricki – this is a very good question – I guess you just get sucked in. Here is a post that I think describes the phenomenon most aptly:
    http://teaandcookies.blogspot.com/2006/02/diary-of-mad-food-blogger.html
    good luck!

  2. Ricki Says:

    Hi Sam,

    Thanks so much for your comment and the link to Tea and Cookies! I just read Tea’s amazing post and laughed out loud several times–yes, as I’m sure you know, it’s exactly like that!

    Now that I’ve got this (Tea and Cookies-enhanced) perspective, I can’t wait to go through the rest of the blogging journey. I’m loving it all: the daily writing/rants, the recipes, the experimentation, the new technology, the sorely-in-need-of-improvement photos, the fantastic posts I’m devouring daily, and, most of all, getting to “meet” so many other bloggers like you. Please feel free to stop by again. And I look forward to more visits to your blog.
    Ricki

  3. shauna Says:

    If you used the word inexorable to describe your journey into blogging, you’re hooked.

    Welcome to this world. It’s brilliant. And time consuming! And brilliant.

  4. Ricki Says:

    Hi Shauna,

    Definitely hooked. And yes, I’m beginning to see what you mean about the “time consuming” bit. . . .🙂


Leave a Reply

