Brussels Sprouts Even My Honey Will Eat

December 27, 2007

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS has moved! 

If you’re reading this page, you’ve landed on the old site.  Please visit the new location by clicking here–and don’t forget to update your readers and blogrolls!

As always, thanks for reading.  I look forward to seeing you at the shiny new Diet, Dessert and Dogs!

“Um, Mum, we are coming with you, aren’t we? Because (and sorry to have to tell you this), we actually have more fans than you do on this blog.”]  

* * *

Well, I’m behind schedule, as usual, and I’m hosting a pot luck dinner tonight to which the guests will be arriving soon.  Of course, neither sleet nor snow nor tardiness nor potlucks will keep me from posting to Holidailies, so this will be a short post.

All the recent talk of veggies got me thinking about our veggie dishes at our Christmas dinner, and the amazing brussels sprouts that were beloved by all.  Now, I know that brussels sprouts, unlike something like, say, potatoes or corn, are not considered the A-list of veggie celebrities.  Nevertheless, these really were delicious–mostly, I’m told, because the essential “brussels-sproutness” was more or less masked by the glaze in which they’re baked.

 The recipe is also ridiculously easy–I didn’t even measure anything–and foolproof. 

So, for those of us already enamored of the little globular greens, and for the rest of you who really should give this a try, here’s the recipe.

Tomorrow, I’ll post the menu/recipes of the potluck–tempeh stew is simmering as I write!

Roasted Brussels Sprouts in Balsamic Glaze

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

4 Responses to “Brussels Sprouts Even My Honey Will Eat”

  1. Kimberly Says:

    As a child, I loathed brussels sprouts; they’re now one of my favorite vegetables. The combo of mustard and balsamic sounds like a perfect foil for them; I’ll give this a try soon.

  2. Grumpy Chair Says:

    I agree with Kimberly, I was 43 years old before I tried them (this past summer) and loved them. We even had them on Christmas.

    Now I have a new recipe. Thanks!


  3. I LOVE a good brussels sprouts recipe. Thanks for sharing this; I’m definitely going to be trying it!

  4. Ricki Says:

    Kimberly,

    Thanks so much for visiting and for your comment! I also adore them now (wasn’t so fussy as a child). Do let me know what you think after you’ve tried them.

    Grumpy Chair,
    Well, you’ve now joined the Mature Eaters. This is a great recipe for Christmas dinner, as I mentioned, so you’ve got another way to eat them now!

    Sally,
    Glad I could add to your repertoire. I’ve been thinking that they might also be nice with a few bits of toasted walnut, or even pine nuts, thrown over the top. I’ll let you know if I do them again that way.


Leave a Reply

