Lucky Comestible I(3): Sweet Potato-Cranberry Scones

January 23, 2008

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS HAS MOVED!

If you’re reading this page, you’ve landed on the old site.  Please visit the new location by clicking here–and don’t forget to update your readers and blogrolls!

As always, thanks for reading.  I look forward to seeing you at the shiny new Diet, Dessert and Dogs!

“Um, Mum, we are coming with you, aren’t we? Because (and sorry to have to tell you this), we actually have more fans than you do on this blog.”]  

 

 

[This week’s Lucky Comestible is sweet potatoes; here’s part 3 in the series. ]

It’s a snowy, windy, perenially grey landscape here in DDD land.  The snow is so fine and dense as it swirls and sweeps by my window that it appears almost like some giant Scotsman is smoking his pipe and blowing smoke round the corner.  Well, come on in, O Accented One–I’ve got scones to serve! (And they are part of your heritage, after all.)

 Since breakfast is my very favorite all-time meal (yes, I’m sure I must have mentioned that before), I’m always on the lookout for a good scone recipe.  This can sometimes be a bit challenging, as I don’t use butter or eggs, evidement, but I also don’t use vegan margarines.  If you’re looking for an acceptable whole food that can substitute for butter, your only real bet is organic coconut oil.  Now, that’s fine with me, as it’s solid at room temperature and tastes quite yummy.  I use the one in the big black jar as it doesn’t impart any real coconut flavor (not that there’s anything wrong with that–just not always what I fancy when I want the other flavors in the dish to shine).

So for me, scones are generally a mix of spelt flour, soured soymilk or other non-dairy milk, and coconut butter.  I generally throw in a dried fruit or fresh berries, scoop, and voila!–pseudo scones.  Most of the time, I just drool over the recipes I find on other blogs and move on.  This week, I thought sweet potato scones would be perfect, as I love sweet potatoes and often have lots of puree in the house (it’s also something I often feed to The Girls as well).

In my search for the perfectly adaptable recipe, I came across many winners.  Hannah over at Bittersweet baked up some yummy looking Orange-Cranberry Scones, courtesy of an original recipe on Bakingsheet; and while I love cranberries in scones, I was on the lookout for something that could incorporate sweet potatoes without too much protest.  So it was on to a savory sweet potato scone recipe from Tartelette. Adapted from an original recipe on Recipezaar, this one featured onions, so that was out for me (though maybe for another day. . .).  But the recipe that really caught my eye was the one for Pumpkin Scones by Johanna over at Green Gourmet Giraffe.  After salivating over her photos of these butter-soaked scones (or are they biscuits? see what Johanna says), I decided that, with a few modifications, I’d have my dream scone! With some extra cranberries in my freezer and sweet potato puree in the fridge, I was ready to go.

These turned out great.  They have a light interior with just a hint of sweetness, and the tart, juicy cranberries are just the right counterpoint to the sweetness of the scone.  And with a touch of apple butter and some faux coffee, they made a heavenly breakfast.

(“Mum, we could use some breakfast, too, you know.  And we adore sweet potatoes! So if there’s any of that puree left over. . . . “)

Sweet Potato-Cranberry Scones (adapted from Green Gourmet Giraffe)

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

swpotsconeapbut.jpg

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

7 Responses to “Lucky Comestible I(3): Sweet Potato-Cranberry Scones”

  1. BitterSweet Says:

    Oh wow, those look delicious! I don’t often have sweet potatoes on hand, but maybe this recipe would be a great excuse to finally pick some up!

  2. Ricki Says:

    Thanks, Hannah. They really were very tasty! And do try out the sweet potatoes (after all, how could a sweet vegetable be bad??).

  3. Johanna Says:

    Looks like an interesting version of an old family favourite. I am sure the sweet potato would give the same moist lightness as pumpkin. Plus cranberries always seem a great mate for sweet potato.

    BTW I finally bought some agave and tried in in the wattleseed/cashew truffles – was excellent so am now thinking about other ways to use it – thanks

  4. Ricki Says:

    Johanna,

    Yes, I think sweet potatoes and pumpkin must be first cousins–very similar look and texture (though I’m guessing the former add a bit more sweetness, most likely the reason for my own preference). I think these will now be our NEW family favorite!

    So glad you liked the agave. Despite the exorbitant price, it’s my most-used sweetener over here. Looking forward to reading about your other agave adventures.

  5. Tartelette Says:

    Looks delicious! I make the sweet potato scones from the blog without the onions most the time. I love the cranberry addition.

  6. Ricki Says:

    Tartelette,

    Thanks for your comment–welcome to the blog! Well, now that I know the onions aren’t *essential* to the scones coming out good, I could just as well use your recipe. . . will try it as well. And I’d definitely recommend adding the cranberries (dried or fresh)–they added a nice change in texture and flavor burst as well.


  7. […] culinary territory.  This time, we lugged a veritable feast with us: leftover salad, bread, scones, and fruits from the previous week.  And with bar fridges now standard in most hotel rooms, I was […]


Leave a Reply

