The Best Home Fries Ever

February 10, 2008

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS HAS MOVED! If you’re reading this page, you’ve landed on the old site.  Please visit the new location by clicking here–and don’t forget to update your readers and blogrolls!

As always, thanks for reading.  I look forward to seeing you at the shiny new Diet, Dessert and Dogs!

“Um, Mum, we are coming with you, aren’t we? Because (and sorry to have to tell you this), we actually have more fans than you do on this blog.”]  

 

For a simple weekend brunch, no matter what the main course, I always crave a side of home fries.  The humble potato is truly transformed into something exceptional when fried up alongside slivered onion and whatever else you may please, from the most rudimentary (salt and pepper) to something more hip and funky (green pepper, tomato and avocado).  While I’m basically a purist when it comes to home fries, I do like them flavorful. 

Over the weekend, we cooked up a batch of my favorite version of home fries.  The process is incredibly easy.  I had just started thinking about it, so asked myself three essential questions: 

1) Feel like potatoes?  Yep.

2) Feel like spice? But of course.

3) Have both in the house, and about 20 minutes to spare? Jackpot!  Okay, then–let’s party!

I came up with this combination (likely not entirely original, I’ll venture) because we always have steak spice in the house for the HH’s carnivorous forays. I love spicy food, and the aroma of that particular combination of spices and seeds really sets my nose tingling.  Well, I decided, if I won’t put the spice on steak, why not try it out on one of my favorites–home fries?  The result worked amazingly well.  Never mind the steak–just give me a plate of these, please, and I’m happy.

I’ll often do up a cheater’s version of this dish if I’m strapped for time.  Like Johanna and her roasted carrots with dukkah, or Heidi and her friend’s skillet smashed potatoes, I’ll partially cook the potatoes before adding to the frypan, as I’ve found that, unless you overdo it and cook them completely, the dish isn’t really diminished by this move.  If you begin with parboiled potatoes, you’re looking at no more than 15 minutes before you can dig into some browned, caramelized, crunchy-on-the-outside-creamy-on-the-inside potato contentment.

In fact, I love this recipe so much that I considered submitting it to “The Potato–A Blog Event” hosted by Eating Leeds, but I’ve decided I’ll just give the event a nod in this post, as I’ve got another potato-y prize in store for the event (which I’ll post later in the month).  In the meantime, enjoy this super-easy way to cook up America’s favorite vegetable.

(“Mum, those do look great, but you know we’ll have to pass because we can’t have that onion.  Sometimes you can be so heartless. . . “).

Montreal or Chicago Spiced Home Fries

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

homefriesspicy.jpg

This is a quick and easy way to provide a great side dish to a brunch or any protein main course.  Feel free to adjust the spice to your own preferences.

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

4 Responses to “The Best Home Fries Ever”

  1. Cakespy Says:

    Dude. Those look so tasty and warm…perfect for a cold Seattle Winter!

  2. Ricki Says:

    Thanks, Cakespy, and welcome! Can a woman be a dude, too? Okay, I’ll take it😉.

  3. Karen Says:

    Now I’m totally craving these. YUM. Do you know that I rate most diners by the quality of their home fries? I’m so going to try this recipe soon!!

    Best,
    Karen

  4. Ricki Says:

    Karen,
    I consider home fries to be the best part of a diner breakfast, so I’m with you on that one! Hope you enjoy these as much as we do over here.


Leave a Reply

