Flash in the Pan: Like Chocolate for Water*

March 21, 2008

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS HAS MOVED!

If you’re reading this page, you’ve landed on the old site.  Please visit the new location by clicking here–and don’t forget to update your readers and blogrolls!

As always, thanks for reading.  I look forward to seeing you at the shiny new Diet, Dessert and Dogs!

“Um, Mum, we are coming with you, aren’t we? Because (and sorry to have to tell you this), we actually have more fans than you do on this blog.”]

*Or, The Only Type of Chocolate I Can Effortlessly Resist

[I’ve decided to offer a mini-post every once in a while, for a dish that comes together incredibly quickly, or else is so easy to make that no recipe is required.  Here’s today’s “Flash in the Pan.”]

mexicanchoctopcup.jpg

It seems a bit misleading to even post this recipe, since the major ingredient (chocolate) came to me straight from Ecuador (via a friend who’s in town)–which means there’s not much chance too many of you can reproduce this exactly as presented. Still, if you have access to similar types of chocolate (such as a good quality 70% cocoa bar, or these little nuggets that I’ve been getting from my friend PR Queen), I’m sure you’ll whip up something pretty darn close.  

I’ve probably mentioned before that I maintain contact with a group of four women from my nutrition school days (we were study-buddies). Every few months, we get together for a healthy meal and round of animated chat (I sometimes think of us as a latter day Sex and the City gang–except in our case, it’s more like Tex-Mex and the City).  A few months ago, we met for a pot luck dinner at my place; today was lunch at a favorite Thai restaurant.

Well, about six months ago, one of our gang, M.E., up and moved to Ecuador.  Since she was born and raised there, this was more a quest for self-actualization than the peregrinations of an adventurous tourist.  She, her husband and children, have all adjusted well to life in the eternally-warm zone (as she mentioned today, “winter” means the day is less than entirely sunny), but returned for a couple of weeks to visit.  Lucky for us!

Across the table, she doled out gifts of food to each of us; I was the lucky recipient of pure Ecuadorian chocolate, made from toasted, ground cacao beans, both grown and dried locally (in bins along the roadside, where they dehydrate under the sunshine, M.E. informed us), shaped into large flat disks and sold in bags of 250 g. each. 

Ever since I first read the book Like Water For Chocolate , I’ve wondered what authentic Mexican hot chocolate would taste like, as opposed to, say, warm milk with Nestle Quik (my childhood version of the drink) or cocoa powder, agave syrup and hot soymilk (what I make for the HH when he requests same). 

I myself have never been a huge fan of hot chocolate except in theory:  it seems the perfect beverage to sip on while curled up beside a crackling fireplace, reading Little Women as you absently pat your dog’s silken ears; or perhaps a libation after you’ve shoveled the walkway, cheeks flushed and pulsing crimson, once you peel away layer after layer of woolies and finally collapse with your mug into a plush, waiting armchair. 

But reality and theory don’t always mesh; so when I received this very generous gift, my first thought was, “what can I bake with it?”  Then I remembered Esquivel’s book and immediately wanted to make it according to her recipe.  Nothing could be less complicated: simply boil water, add chocolate and sugar (if necessary), mix vigorously, and top up with milk of your choice. My version, of course, would employ a sugar substitute but be otherwise identical to the authentic Mexican version.  And now I had the perfect chocolate with which to try it!

mexicanchocdisks.jpg Since the package was covered entirely in Spanish, I asked M.E. to translate.  The ingredients read:  “cacao, dried and ground.”  The disks appeared stippled and slightly marbled where the natural fats had likely heated and then cooled; I knew the quality and flavor wouldn’t be affected by this.  I gingerly broke a tiny piece from one of the disks and laid it on my tongue; it softened and melted almost immediately, with a subtle sweetness, intense cocoa flavor and slightly sour aftertaste.

M.E. regularly whips up hot chocolate for her kids as an after-school treat, and provided simple instructions for me to follow. So I boiled, melted, and stirred, topping up the mug with a dollop of my own whipped “cream” (I haven’t forgotten, either, that I promised this recipe; I’m still working out the kinks in it–see below), and took a sip. 

Perhaps it’s because I long for the season of hot chocolate to finally end; perhaps it’s that I just can’t get used to drinking my chocolate rather than eating it.  Even though I did enjoy the drink, I must confess that it didn’t tempt me the same way a dense chocolate brownie or a mint chocolate chip cookie might.  Well, that’s a good thing. The HH, on the other hand, was smitten, and slurped up the rest of the mugful post haste.  Luckily, I was able to heat up another cup in no time.

Ecuadorian Hot Chocolate

mexicanchoccup1.jpg

This is an old-fashioned method to make a good cup of hot chocolate.  If you’ve never tried it this way, the richness and intensity of the flavor will be a pleasant surprise.

1/2 cup water

about 1-1/2 ounces (40 g.) good quality bittersweet or semisweet chocolate

about 1/2 cup warm soymilk, rice milk or almond milk

Pour the water into a small pot and bring to a boil.  Turn off the heat, and break the chocolate into the pot.  Stir to melt the chocolate.  When the chocolate is melted, add the milk and whisk to blend well.  Pour into a mug and enjoy immediately.

[NOTE: As I mentioned, I’m still working on the whipped “cream” recipe.  It’s a fussy recipe that isn’t quite perfected yet. I’m hoping to have someone else try it out to compare results and see if I can diminish any variation.  If you’re interested in this culinary challenge, please let me know.]

8 Responses to “Flash in the Pan: Like Chocolate for Water*”

  1. Cmoore Says:

    Looking forward to the whipped “cream”! Your chocolate sounds tasty…I always like mine with a generous dash of cinnamon and a splash of brandy. Mm.

  2. Johanna Says:

    That’s exciting to have ecuadorian chocolate – am I right in assuming it is like mexican chocolate? I have a savoury recipe for mexican chocolate, beans and pumpkin (I think that is the one in my mind! let me know if you have chocolate over and are interested and I could hunt it out) from somewhere in the blogosphere.

    I am not much of a hot chocolate fan – I find it too rich and dairy – which is not to say I haven’t found hot chocolate’s I love (esp Jeffrey Steingarten’s recipe and the ones at Plaisir du Chocolat in Edinburgh) but I agree with you that there are much better uses for chocolate!

  3. Ricki Says:

    cmoore,
    I also thought cinnamon would go well with this, since I always think of chocolate and cinnamon in Mexican dishes. Maybe I would have liked it better if I’d sprinkled a little on top!

    Johanna,
    Your recipe sounds fabulous. I was also thinking that a thick and spicy mole would be a good use for it. . . but if you have the recipe handy (don’t go to anygrat trouble, please!), I’d definitely be interested, thanks!.🙂

  4. BitterSweet Says:

    You can make an excellent whipped “cream” by using coconut milk! I’ve used this recipe many times now: http://www.vegsource.com/talk/milk/messages/9244.html

    Hot chocolate sounds pretty good even without it, though!

  5. Courtney Says:

    Mmmmm…hot chocolate sounds really good right now–we are digging out from a storm that dropped about 8 inches of snow! Your friend was sweet to bring you such a nice gift–I hope you have fun experimenting with it!

    Courtney


  6. Hi Ricki,

    My personal preference for hot chocolate made with actual chocolate is to drop the water all together. I figure mostly the water is there in regular recipes to rehydrate the “cocoa powder”. As such I just melt the chocolate in the milk sub warmed in a saucepan.

    Some variations that I find quite nice to add a bit of variation if I am feeling a little bored are freshly grated cinnamon or a dash of chili to taste.

    Kind Regards
    Belinda

  7. Ricki Says:

    Bittersweet,
    Thanks for the tip! My version is also coconut-milk based, but without the soy. Hoping for a final version coming up! Except now I want to try that other recipe. . .

    Courtney,
    You have my utmost sympathy–eight inches!! Ours has, thankfully, just started to melt. And I was very thankful to M.E. for the gift, yes🙂 .

    Simply.belinda,
    I thought I’d base my recipe on the one in the novel, but I’m not sure exactly what kind of chocolate she used, actually! I do think an all-milk version would be much richer tasting. And chili sounds like a wonderful addition.

  8. TBC Says:

    I like to eat my chocolate and drink it as well.:-)
    Your cup of hot chocolate is so tempting!

    Have you tried whipping up some mascarpone cheese with a little bit of sugar and vanilla essence? It is oh-so-good!


Leave a Reply

