Weekend Update

March 23, 2008

I thought I’d take a few minutes before heading out for a long trail-walk with The Girls (it’s a long weekend over here, and they’re thrilled to have us both at home–ALL DAY!!) to post a few newsy notes. 

So, if you drop in only for the recipes or the witty repartee (I suppose that since I don’t hear your replies, it’s actually just “partee”), then you may wish to skip this entry and wait for the next.  But if you do, you might just miss something important. . . not that I’m saying you should stay, or anything. . . it’s entirely up to you. . .  

News Bit Number One:

For those of you who may have missed it or don’t look for such things, I recently added a Recipe Index (under “Pages,” at right).  I’ve categorized according to general food types, but if I’ve missed one you want to see, please let me know.  I must say that I was quite surprised at the number of gluten free options in the list, since I can actually eat gluten (some) without problems.  Still, I suppose a NAG diet inclines naturally toward GF foods.  (And chocolate is, after all, gluten free).

News Bit Number Two:

Next week, I’m planning to focus on another Lucky Comestible; this time, it’s quinoa.  While I’m not entirely ready to host a full-fledged blogging event, I would love to hear about your own adventures with quinoa, and any recipes you’ve made or blogged about.  You can leave a link in the comments or let me know via email and I’ll add a link to your recipe at the end of my posts.  Would love to see more quinoa in the world!

News Bit Number Three:

I am just thrilled over this one!  A while back, I entered the Root Source Challenge for Maple Syrup, with my post on Maple-Walnut Cookies.  Well, my little recipe won the challenge!  I can’t wait to see my new baking book!  If you missed the original post, it’s right here.

 News Bit Number Four:

excellentblog-award.jpg

Well, now that I’ve introduced the idea of blogs being rewarded, I’m ready for the most important news bit today:  After much contemplation, I’m finally going to suggest my own “Excellence” Awards.  I was given this honor by the lovely Romina of Vegan Eating for One, and have been mulling it over ever since.  There are soooo many excellent bloggers out there, how to choose?  And, even harder, how to choose only FIVE?

Well, it was a difficult choice, indeed.  And I apologize to all of you I don’t mention here.  I regularly read ALL of the blogs in my blogroll, plus about 30-40 more at this point; I think you are all excellent, or I wouldn’t be reading! 

So I made my choice based on a few delimiting principles. Anyone who’s already received accolades for whatever reason was automatically disqualified; I want to spread the appreciation around (and if I’ve doubled up on an award, that’s my oversight; sorry!). I also wanted to choose blogs that were not necessarily recipe-based; I pinpointed those I found quirky, or undiscovered gems, or something a little off the beaten track. . . just my own little idiosyncracies there, I guess. 

So here goes.  My own choices for Excellent bloggers include (in alphabetical order):

  • Deb at Altered Plates.  I love Deb’s take on baking; Everything she does looks so delicious, I want to make all of her recipes!  And she introduced coconut flour to me, something for which I am eternally grateful😉
  • Annie at Forest Street Kitchen.  Even though our styles of cooking may differ, Annie is a wonderful writer with a wry, satiric take on so many things.  I enjoy her perspective and she always makes me laugh.  And, now, she’s a celebrity!
  • Lucy at Nourish Me.  Her photos are awe-inspiring, her writing is poetic, and her recipes are all NAG-friendly; I always look forward to her blog posts. All that, and she writes from my favorite country on Earth. 
  • Megan at Reflections in the Snow-Covered Hills.  No recipes, or much about food at all, really; just a uniquely wry, usually hilarious and slightly twisted view of the world. . . just up my alley. 
  • Lizzie at The Good Eatah.  With relatively new gluten and dairy dietary restrictions, Lizzie still manages to cook up a bunch of yummy foods, always with an upbeat attitude. And I do enjoy those pix of Henry!

Hope you all check out these wonderful blogs. As I said above, there are many more than just five Excellent blogs out there, but now I’ll have to rely on those ladies to go out and pick five of their own. 

Hope everyone’s enjoying a fabulous long weekend, whether or not you celebrate Easter🙂 .

16 Responses to “Weekend Update”

  1. Megan Says:

    Wow, really? Thanks — you are so sweet. I love your blog, too.

    I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned it, but my mom and husband both have celiac disease, so we adore your gluten-free recipes.

  2. Courtney Says:

    Congratulations on winning the contest with your cookies! That is so exciting! And thank you so much for the recipe index. I am looking forward to going through it and making even more of your wonderful recipes!!

    Hope the rest of your weekend goes well,
    Courtney

  3. Ricki Says:

    Megan,
    No, I didn’t know about the celiac. . .but glad the blog can be useful, at least! And somehow, when I first posted, I cut off the second half of your name; sorry. It’s been fixed!

    Courtney,
    Thanks so much! I must say I was tickled to hear about it. Hope the index is useful for you, and that you had a great long weekend, too🙂 .


  4. Thanks for making the recipe index. I’ll definitely be checking it out. I’ll also be sure to check out the blogs you’ve mentioned.
    And of course, Romina was very smart to give you the award :o).

  5. Romina Says:

    I’m glad you’ve included gluten-free in your recipe index. I’ve been aiming to eat less gluten lately, not due to intolerance but because it really forces you to eat an abundance of different grains.

    Quinoa is fabulous! I can’t get enough of it. I usually use it in place of rice, or any grain really.

  6. Johanna Says:

    thanks for sharing lots of good news and excellent blogs – congrats on winning the root source comp – will look forward to your quinoa posts – it is something I need to be encouraged to eat more of (actually to eat at all!)

  7. Deb Schiff Says:

    First, congratulations on your winning cookies! They are tops on my “must-make-next” list.

    Second, thanks so much for the E for Excellent blog award. That’s just the coolest thing ever! You totally earned yours.🙂

    Third, thanks for asking us to pay it forward, as it were. Always a good thing.

    Finally, thanks for starting the week with a boatload of good news! Yay! Think I’ll do the same.

  8. Shayna Says:

    Thanks Ricki! And congrats on the cookies! I will have to try those!

  9. imagineannie Says:

    Congrats on winning the contest! If I remember correctly, you were a pretty fast-track award winner in NaBloPoMo, too. People like to “partee” with you!

    And, of course, thanks for the recognition!!!!!!! I am honored to be selected, and will strive, going forward, to be worthy of your continued attention. I think that in your honor I will even make quinoa to go with dinner, although (as you are well aware) I cannot bear to watch it cook…..

  10. Lizzie Says:

    Congrats on the cookie recipe! I am totally making them.

    And I have to admit that I am completely honored to be named excellent by YOU! Really — it made my day!

    And I am psyched to see a recipe index on here. It makes creating your yummy recipes just that much easier🙂

  11. shellyfish Says:

    Congrats to you for your award-winning cookies! They sound so yum! I love anything maple!

    Here’s a link to my basic quinoa casserole recipe : http://shellyfish.wordpress.com/2008/03/12/couldnt-be-easier-quinoa-casserole/

    I use quinoa all the time, it’s so versatile & delish, and really quite fast to prepare (but this is the only recipe I have up on my blog…need to get on that!) Thought I’d share in view of your upcoming quinoa study🙂

    Encore, bravo!
    Shellyfish

  12. Lucy Says:

    Well, I’m chuffed. Don’t know what to say…thanks, darls.

    Great cookies (again, I’m hardly surprised that you won!).

    Your quinoa-postimg I shall look forward to as I love the stuff. So does Poppy. ill think about posting my fav pilaf…hopefully in time.

  13. Lisa Says:

    Regarding News Bit Number Two: Quinoa is one of the world’s most perfect grains and damn tasty too! I’ve made more than a few recipes for quinoa, but I think my favorites so far are Quinoa with sun-dried tomatoes and corn, my Quinoa-oat croquettes and of course my classically simple but simply perfect, Quinoa Soup with Corn. In particular, the quinoa soup is highly recommended.

    Thank you for focusing on this delicious and nourishing grain.

  14. Ricki Says:

    Choccoveredvegan,

    Glad the index will be of use! And thanks for the kind words🙂 .

    Romina,
    I am amazed at how many delicious recipes are naturally gluten-free. Yay! Someone who loves quinoa as much as I do!

    Johanna,
    Thanks! I think you will love quinoa if you give it a chance. It’s definitely my favorite grain!

    Deb,
    Thanks so much! And I calls ’em as I sees ’em!

    Shayna,
    Thanks so much for your comment, and welcome to the blog! Do let me know if you try out the cookies, and how you like them🙂 .

    imagineannie,
    Thanks! And if I can actually get you to try and like quinoa, well, I think that will be the true prize!!😉

    Lizzie,
    Thanks! So glad I could contribute to a good day🙂 .
    Glad the index will be of use, too.

    Shellyfish,
    Thanks so much! I love the look of your casserole. I do one that’s similar, except mine uses Indian spices in lieu of the herbs you mention. Thanks for the link–I’ll include it in the posts!

    Lucy,
    Well, I hope you already knew that I love your blog🙂 .
    Do let me know if you get the pilaf done and I can add a link to it.

    Lisa,
    Thanks! I have to agree on all counts re: quinoa (it’s my favorite grain, too). All your recipes sound fabulous, but I think I may have to set aside one of my planned quinoa dishes so I can try out those croquettes–the topping also looks amazing.

  15. Lucy Says:

    I would like to apologise for my earlier mis-spellings and rambling…;-)

  16. Vegan_Noodle Says:

    Oh jeez, now I have five more blogs to start checking! The list grows everyday… and you are so deserving of the Excellent Award! I just adore reading your posts, always make me smile🙂


Leave a Reply

