A Date, a Dilemma and a Diet

April 13, 2008

[Warning: this post contains material that some might find offensive.  That’s right–I’m going to be serious for once.]

 

Last evening, the HH and I went out for dinner to celebrate our anniversary (eleven years since we met—can it be possible??).  Actually, our true anniversary was last Sunday, but given the unexpected GBR that had me stuck in the house, we deferred until yesterday (sort of like we did with our Valentine’s Day dinner, celebrated on February 16th—guess we’re just wacky that way).

 

As we always do on this milestone date, we splurged and went to our favorite restaurant (something we do about twice a year—any more, and we probably couldn’t afford regular food!).  Even though it’s outrageously expensive, the place does deliver, and consistently: great menu, great service, great atmosphere. It’s never a problem to find a meal that suits my dietary restrictions (there’s often a tempeh option!), and even if there’s nothing suitable on the menu, they’ll whip something up on the spot—and it’s always absolutely spectacular (how does a starter salad of Belgian endive stuffed with puy lentils, candied pistachios and dried cranberries, topped with a pouf of lentil sprouts and misted with a light champagne vinaigrette sound?).

 

As usual, I enjoyed the meal immensely; as usual, I ended up consuming too much (how does a heaping plate of fresh potato gnocchi—nothing at all like my own feeble attempt a few weeks back—graced with a saporous, light and meaty wild mushroom sauce and laced with caramelized leeks and occasional hints of thyme sound?). 

 

Well, everything was fine and dandy while we were still celebrating, cleaning our plates and draining our champagne flutes, feeling pretty good about our decade-plus-one status.  But then, this morning. . .

 

Ah, this morning.  

 

 

When I first started this blog, I designated Sundays as “Progress Tracker” day, when I’d weigh-in (at the Workout Club), then record my weight as I lost it. Which means that this morning was weigh-in time. Needless to say, I haven’t been to the club since I hurt my back; but worse, today’s eye-opener was that my weight has now surpassed the original number when I started the blog!

 

 

Do I capitulate, and remove the “diet” from the blog’s title?  Do I keep mum and pretend that the pounds are melting away when they’re not?  Do I forget about the whole thing and just eat whatever the heck I want??

 

No, I decided, I can’t do any of those. Besides the fact that I am still a firm believer in the notion that healthy eating, even without counting points, calories, or carbs, will eventually lead to natural weight loss and health, I don’t feel good this way. I am still able to remember those days when I maintained a healthy weight, and how everything–from walking up the stairs, to getting out of a chair, to playing Frisbee with The Girls, even to pulling on my socks in the morning–was so much more free and easy.  And so, even before the anniversary dinner yesterday, I had decided that some drastic measures are in order.  Time to get some help with this quest of mine. Time to call in the Big Guns.

 

As serendipity would have it, I received an email from my friend and former teacher at nutrition school last week. She’s offering a nine-week course called  ClearBeing Total Health, aimed at one’s overall lifestyle. I registered immediately! The plan focuses on more than just diet alone, and that’s exactly what I need.  I’m also hoping this will be the necessary impetus for me to renew the habits that were already so natural when I studied nutrition a few years ago. 

 

Best of all, this approach is totally compatible with the kinds of food I’ve been highlighting on this blog. The only difference is, I’ll be eating less of them.  In fact, this may actually be the first time in my life I’m looking forward to starting a “diet.”

 

Wish me luck!  I’ll be keeping you posted.

 

 

 

25 Responses to “A Date, a Dilemma and a Diet”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Happy belated anniversary!! So fun that your anniversary is the same day as my birthday!! :0)

    Best of luck with starting your new, healthy-lifestyle plan!!

  2. Romina Says:

    Happy Anniversary!! I wish you both another 11 years, and another and another after that. =)

    Good luck with your new plan. Most people would have given up long before, so your willingness to eat healthy is truly inspirational. Never give up. =0

  3. Celine Says:

    joining in on the “happy anniversary” chorus, and wishing you luck on your journey.

  4. Ricki Says:

    VeggieGirl,
    Of course, I’d read about your birthday on your blog and meant to mention it! Sounds like your own celebration was wonderful, too (also with great food!). Thanks for the support, too–gotta keep trying.

    Romina,
    Thank you so much. I would never think of what I’m doing as inspirational (really not healthy to keep losing and re-gaining weight!!), but I’ll happily accept your kind words. I don’t intend to give up, either (I mean, what’s the alternative–??).

    Celine,
    Thanks so much! It really is a boost to hear from you all.

  5. DC Says:

    If I may share one thing I’ve learned: The morning after a restaurant dinner (not a wee bit of sushi but a real meal like you had last night) you’re probably retaining several pounds of water. Restaurant food is delicious, in part, because it is cooked with far more salt than we would use at home. Plus we tend to eat more of it than we would eat at home. Even if you KNOW those extra 2, 3, 4 pounds are the fault of the salt… when the scale goes up, morale goes down. No sense putting yourself through that when you can just drink plenty of water today and weigh yourself tomorrow.

  6. Megan Says:

    Yes, happy anniversary!

    The scale can really get to you. I didn’t step on a scale at all for the first three months — I went entirely by waist, hip and thigh measurements. It’s so easy to step on the scale and get completely freaked out by what you see. I don’t need that kind of stress in my life, especially when I’m trying to be healthy!


  7. I just found your blog via the comment you left on mine. You look like you do a lot of interesting a fun things over here….I’ll surely come back to visit.
    Happy anniversary!
    Megan


  8. Losing weight is hard, but the reward is good enough to keep trying!

  9. Courtney Says:

    Happy (belated) Anniversary! And good luck! I agree that counting calories, points, carbs, etc. is silly, and if you are eating good, nutrient dense, whole foods that the weight will come off…eventually. It can be frustrating! All you can do is try your best and try not to focus on the numbers too much. Look at other things as well–are you sleeping better, do you have more energy, are your clothes fitting better, etc? I am sure you know all that and that with your background you are in-tune with those things, but sometimes it helps! The course you registered for sounds great!

    Courtney


  10. Happy Anniversary! And good luck!

    On a different note: I just tried parsnips for the first time last year, and after taking one bite, I wondered, “How did I survive for so long without eating this wonderful food?!”

  11. Andrea Z Says:

    Happy Anniversary and best wishes for enjoying your nutrition classes and reaping the benefits you desire.

  12. Johanna Says:

    That dinner sounds amazing – sorry to hear the scales got you down the morning after! I hope your course will help. My sister told me last week that getting to bed earlier was helping her to lose weight! The body is a funny thing how people try and try to lose weight and then it responds to something unexpected! Hope you find the key!


  13. Good Luck,

    It sounds like you have all the building blocks so I am guessing that the course should help you get the kinks worked out.

    Kind Regards
    Belinda

  14. Lucy Says:

    You won’t need luck, but I’m wishing it your way anyway, love.

    I think the diet part should stay – there’s something incredibly real about not only the way that you write, but way you express the things that you experience. Makes for postive and fascinating reading. Tips and tricks along the way, please!!!

    How does the endive dish sound? Bloody marvellous!

  15. Ricki Says:

    DC,
    Thanks so much for your comment and advice. I suppose I actually knew that it was mostly post-dinner weight, but I also knew that the weight has been creeping up anyway, day by day. . . so that was the culmination of several weeks of poor eating habits.

    Megan,
    Thanks so much! I love your idea. . . when I lost a bunch of weight simply by eating well a few years ago, I forgot entirely about the scale, as it didn’t seem important any more. Hoping that will happen again! I find your own weight loss story to be really inspirational–I want to take a pic with my “fat pants,” too! Maybe this course is the first step.

    Megan the Vegan,
    Thanks for your comment–and welcome! And thanks for the good wishes, too.🙂

    Alice,
    I know what you mean–I still remember how great it felt!

    Courtney,
    Thanks for the positive words! And I do know you’re right, of course; but even with the theoretical knowledge of what to eat, it’s those darned cravings that fell me every time. But must keep trying!!

    CCV,
    Thanks! I’m also a great fan of parsnips. Hmmm. . . I feel a few recipes coming on. . .😉

    Andrea,
    Thanks so much for the good wishes!

    Johanna,
    Thanks! I had read about the sleep-weight correlation as well. . . nice to learn that it’s actually true! (Oh, and yes, that meal. .. . YUM).

    Belinda,
    I’ve got great hopes for this course. . . I love the fact that it deals with more of an entire lifestyle approach than just dieting, which I think is important. Thanks for the good wishes!

    Lucy,
    Thanks so much (and I think I could use just a little luck!). And thank you for those lovely words about the writing–I’m really glad to hear that it has some usefulness to at least some people, as that’s part of the point for me in writing. And as soon as I discover those tips and tricks, I will share all, promise!

  16. Matt Says:

    Good luck! Sounds like you’re going about it the right way. I lost 30-something lbs slowly by changing habits after a kidney transplant. You’ll get where you want!

  17. jessiecarty Says:

    New to your site, but I’m also in the world of dieting so looking forward to reading!

  18. A.Ho Says:

    Wow eleven years?

  19. girlofwords Says:

    I’m also new to the site, but I love your writing style.🙂 You sound like you’re well on the path to achieving your goals!

  20. treewriter14 Says:

    I think nutrition is very important and your blog is a wonderful fountain of nutritional info. Please keep posting- I’ll be revisiting this blog over and over again, I’m sure.

  21. Ricki Says:

    Matt,
    Thanks for your comment, and welcome to the blog! Thirty pounds is quite a feat. Congratulations! And thanks for the motivation (and inspiration). Hope you’re doing well after the transplant, too.

    jessiecarty,
    Thanks for your comment, and for visiting! I always love to hear from others who are also food-conscious. What’s your connection to the world of dieting?

    A. Ho,
    Thanks for your comment, and welcome! Yep, eleven can be pretty major (just look what it did for Spinal Tap!). But in the grand scheme of things (and our entire lives), it’s really not that grand! (PS I took a peek at your site–very cool).

    girlofwords,
    Thanks so much for your comment, and kind words. All I can say is, I hope you’re right re: those weight-loss goals!

    treewriter14,
    Thanks for visiting, and for your comment! And I’m glad you found some useful nutritional info here. Look forward to hearing from you again!🙂

  22. The Weakness Says:

    good luck! We are all pullin’ for you!

  23. Ricki Says:

    Lauren,
    Thanks so much! It means a lot (and really helps). Oh, and whoa–amazing website! Your video had me so creeped I had to stay up and watch the Comedy Channel before I could get to sleep!!😉

  24. jessiecarty Says:

    Ricki–I dont’ post as much about dieting on my blog but I’ve been there and done that. Never been particularly thin but wt problems became particularly bad when I turned 22 and have continued for the last 11 years. *sigh* Been thru it all and doing meal delivery service right now to get my mind around good portion sizes again. Hopefully then I’ll start cooking again!

  25. Vegan_noodle Says:

    Just wanted to wish you a happy anniversary!! 11 years is impressive!
    And I know you will succeed in your dieting goals… I often like to think of them as lifestyle changes since diet sounds so… restrictive.


Leave a Reply

