Peanut Butter Biscuits

April 26, 2008

 DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS HAS MOVED! PLEASE VISIT THE NEW SITE BY CLICKING HERE.

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS has moved! 

If you’re reading this page, you’ve landed on the old site.  Please visit the new location by clicking here–and don’t forget to update your readers and blogrolls!

As always, thanks for reading.  I look forward to seeing you at the shiny new Diet, Dessert and Dogs!

“Um, Mum, we are coming with you, aren’t we? Because (and sorry to have to tell you this), we actually have more fans than you do on this blog.”]  

Well, it’s been pretty hectic over here in the DDD household. For the past couple of days, I’ve been slogging away at course prep for a course that deals with diaries and personal journals.  (Did you know, for instance, that  the first online diary, or weblog –today known simply as “blog”–was begun in 1994?  Or that psychiatrists and psychologists often ask their patients to use free association or stream-of-consciousness in journals as a way to dredge up old, repressed conflicts or neuroses?)  Okay–enough work for now!  Time for a snack break. 

Ah, but what to eat?  Hmmm. . . .well, funny, but peanut butter popped into my head. Oh, yeah, baby–peanut butter!  I love it.  It’s creamy, it’s delicious, it’s full of–well, nuts. (Oh.  Hmmm. Is that a bad thing, that I just said “nuts”?  Really, I didn’t mean anything by it. . .sometimes, you know, a peanut is just a peanut.).  Peanut butter was one of my favorite foods in childhood.  (Not that I’m trying to re-live my childhood, or anything.) Of course, nowadays, peanut butter is quite often troublesome, potentially deadly, even–all those peanut allergies and sensitivities. . . which is quite sad, actually. All because we were fed too much of it when we were kids. And now we’re paying for it! Where’s the justice in that? I mean, HOW COULD MY MOTHER DO THAT TO ME? Oh, yes, it’s becoming all too clear: It’s all my mother’s fault!  I may never get over it. . . I think I’m getting a complex. . .   

Well, any Freudian issues aside, I must admit that I do remain a bit conflicted about the stuff.  Although I so enjoy the flavor of it, there’s really nothing elegant about peanut butter (on its own, anyway). For many of us, it’s simply a quick, cheap, and easy base for a meal, something we rely on when either time or funds are scarce; and it’s one of the first foods we eschew as soon as we can afford anything better.  And of course there’s the allergy thing, too.

Perhaps worse, peanuts sometimes harbor potentially deadly toxins. As you probably know, the peanut is actually a legume, not a nut; and its shell, being somewhat soft and porous, functions as a perfect hiding place for a variety of molds, foremost among them something called aflatoxin.  When I first read about this particularly virulent fungus and its affinity for peanuts, I stopped eating peanut products that same day. 

And while aflatoxins are generally found only in minute amounts in peanut products (their levels are monitored, ostensibly), they are, nevertheless, twenty times more toxic than DDT, promoting liver damage and a variety of cancers. Unfortunately, organic peanut butter isn’t exempt, even though it’s free of many other carcinogens (read: pesticides, additives).

Well, after a bit of debate, I welcomed my childhood friend back into my home and diet–my feelings for it were just too deeply rooted–but in relatively small quantities.  Besides, the legendary legume still boasts many very positive attributes, and the benefits seemed to equalize the drawbacks.  For instance, peanuts also contain heart-healthy monounsaturated fats; they provide just as many antioxidants as fruit (which would, theoretically, balance out some of the nasty aflatoxin effects); they contain many cancer fighting compounds (again, anti-aflatoxin), and, along with nuts in general, are said to help with weight loss (I am SO on it!).

But was there a way to incorporate the plebeian peanut into the realm of adult tastes? True, you can find peanut butter in a variety of Thai dishes, which I love, or the less-spicy Chinese sauces.  And I made good use of PB in one of my favorite soups of all time, Moroccan Spiced Tomato Soup.

But today, I wanted to find something else.  Something a little more mature.  A little more sophisticated.  A little more. . .baked.

I suppose I could have taken an easy route and opted for that old standard, Peanut Butter Cookies.  With their characteristic cross-hatch and crispy bottoms, they’re a homey, cheerful and somewhat quaint rendering of PB.  And then there’s this bread, which I’ve been salivating over for quite some time.  Looks fabulous, doesn’t it?  But it requires the dreaded yeast, and I just couldn’t shake my anxiety over that one quite yet (is it an Edible Complex? Is it peanut envy?).

In the end, I decided to try something from my copy of the Damn Tasty! cookbook by Kris Holechek, which I bought some time ago and still hadn’t used. (Unfortunately, the book is no longer in print). I flipped to the recipe for Basic Biscuits–quick, easy, familiar–and made a couple of quick adaptations. 

The result was a light (flaky, almost), very appealing biscuit with the added dimension of peanut butter. At the same time, the biscuits are sturdy enough to cut in half and slather with a favorite topping (in my case–more PB!). 

Later, served with a little apple butter, they were reminiscent of those long-ago sandwiches of my childhood. 

Which is a good thing.

No, really.  

Because I used an ice-cream scoop to create uniformly sized biscuits,  I thought this would be a great submission for Joelen‘s Tasty Tools event, this month highlighting scoops.

Peanut Butter Biscuits (adapted from Damn! Tasty Vegan)

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

These are light and not too sweet, with a subtle peanut butter flavor. Like a peanut-butter enhanced whole-wheat biscuit, they exude nutrition, healthfulness and subconscious id-related urges.

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

 

21 Responses to “Peanut Butter Biscuits”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    When I saw the title of this post, and then scrolled down to the photograph of the biscuits, I gasped – I totally NEED one of those biscuits right now!! :0D

    I hope things get less hectic for you!! Hang in there!!

  2. Romina Says:

    Peanut butter… yes please!

    I had no idea that the first blog was in 1994! I didn’t even know the internet existed then, hehe.

  3. stonielove Says:

    mmm! that looks fantastic!

  4. Johanna Says:

    Peanut butter is a childhood love that I return to every now and again – have never heard that the soft shell is one of its weaknesses but glad to hear of all the benefits I will enjoy next time I need a fix! Love your biscuits with the peanut butter !

  5. Deb Schiff Says:

    Edible complex! You’re a riot. Those biscuits sure do look mighty tasty, Ma’am. Although I have to say the best biscuits I’ve ever had were down in Nashville, TN. Have been chasing them ever since. ;D

  6. Karen Says:

    Ricki,
    Your blog always, always makes me hungry. Today is no exception.

    A few months ago, I finally convinced hubby that we should trade in Skippy for natural, sugarfree, organic peanut butter. He was kicking and screaming the whole way..until he tasted it. And claimed it was superior!

    I’m making that soup the first chance I get.

    Best,
    Karen

  7. Ricki Says:

    VeggieGirl,
    Didn’t mean to make you gasp! But I sort of felt the same way once they came out of the oven. Thanks for the good wishes–same to you on exams (though I doubt you need any help on that)🙂 .

    Romina,
    I didn’t know about the Internet back then, either (even though I am waaaaay older than you, of course😉 ). Lucky for us, somebody started it all!

    stonielove,
    Thanks! Let me know how you like them if you try them out.

    Johanna,
    Thanks–though of course these are actually scones in your part of the world, arent’ they (I just can’t let a joke go, can I)? And I don’t worry about the negative effects any more, with all those positives to cancel them out.🙂

    Deb,
    Never been to Nashville, but I guess I’ve got a reason, now! This type of baked good is one of my favorites, any time of day.

    Karen,
    Thanks so much! I don’t think I could ever go back to Skippy at this point, either. . . and I think you’ll love that soup!

  8. Lisa Says:

    I’m making this! I never would have thought to make peanut butter biscuits. I did make my own peanut butter cups the other day, but they were so decadent, I ended up giving most of them away.

  9. LisaRene Says:

    Peanut butter in and on a biscuit, delicious! I would have to top them with a drizzle of honey as peanut butter and honey are luscious together🙂 Actually peanut butter, honey and banana are pretty tasty as well and these biscuits would make perfect little peanut butter banana sandwiches!

  10. teaescapade Says:

    mmmm… I love peanut butter! Peanut butter on bread, on celery, on bananas with a drizzle of honey, peanut butter smoothies, in ice cream… I must stop.

    Thanks for the recipe, I have to try it one day. (I don’t like to cook.) I never thought of peanut butter in and on biscuits. Yummy1

  11. shellyfish Says:

    let’s here it for id-inspired urges! I too have a complicated realionship with peanutbutter. I love peanuts & peanut sauce, butter, etc, but because of all the naturally occuring toxins & such, I try to use restraint!

  12. holler Says:

    And there I was thinking that peanut butter was good for you! I had convinced myself, sigh!
    Your scones look yummy!


  13. Peanut butter is so yummy! It’s just too bad I’m a bit allergic to nuts. Otherwise I would have tried those out. By the way, I’ve tagged you. Cheers!

  14. Ricki Says:

    Lisa,
    I figured that if it can go ON biscuits, why not IN biscuits? Your PB cups sound wonderful…(and I’d be happy to help you out next time you’ve got to get rid of some😉 ).

    LisaRene,
    Yes, I think sandwiches would be terrific–maybe PB and banana biscuits are next. . .

    teaescapade,
    Thanks so much for your comment, and for visiting! I think that even if you don’t enjoy cooking, you could make these–they’re easy to do, and ready in a flash.

    shellyfish,
    I know what you mean–I could probably eat PB every day if I let myself, but I’m too worried about potential effects!

    Holler,
    Glad you like the look of them. I’m sure PB once in a while wouldn’t be all that bad. . .🙂

    Lovliebutterfly,
    Thanks for your comment, and welcome to the blog! Sorry to hear about your allergy (you are definitely not alone on that one). And thanks for the tag–I will do my best to post it as soon as I can!🙂


  15. Wow, I had no idea people were blogging back in 1994… I didn’t even have internet back then!
    Your biscuits look perfect. I just made banana bread, but now I want these too! Gosh, I’m greedy.

  16. Johanna Says:

    Yes your biscuits are my scones and I was all excited at first because I thought they were my biscuits (ie your cookies) and I have been wanting to bake what you call peanut butter cookies! But your biscuits look great even if they are really scones to me! Is that confusing enough🙂


  17. WOAH! I know a certain pb lover (my husband) that will go nuts for this!

  18. aTxVegn Says:

    As a huge PB lover, I was glad to see you use it in a recipe after saying all of those horrible things about it! I usually eat peanut butter on apples or bananas, so maybe I’m counterbalancing any ill effects.

  19. Suzie Says:

    I was under the impression that peanuts and/or peanut butter was toxic for dogs??? Was I misled — what is the truth about this myth? I know you can purchase things over the counter in Petco – PetSmart, etc. that have peanut butter imitations (such as treats) to feed to your dog — but I was always told that peanut butter or peanuts were toxic to the animal. Please let me know your thoughts on this. Thank you,

    Suzie D.

  20. Ricki Says:

    Hi Suzie,

    Thanks for your comment, and for visiting my blog! As far as I know, peanut butter isn’t toxic for dogs. It’s in a variety of dog biscuits, is a recommended treat by the Kong company, and isn’t mentioned on this site: http://www.entirelypets.com/toxicfoods.html . Macadamia nuts, on the other hand, ARE toxic.

  21. Jennifer Says:

    I made these last night, and they were pretty easy. Only thing to note…they are definitely better served warm with a touch of honey.


Leave a Reply

