Close Encounters with Cookies from Another Planet

May 10, 2008

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS HAS MOVED! PLEASE VISIT THE SHINY NEW HOME OF DDD BY CLICKING HERE.  

cosmiccookie2.jpg

[Unretouched photo of unidentified, disk-like objects, hovering in the air over my kitchen table]

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS has moved! 

If you’re reading this page, you’ve landed on the old site.  Please visit the new location by clicking here–and don’t forget to update your readers and blogrolls!

As always, thanks for reading.  I look forward to seeing you at the shiny new Diet, Dessert and Dogs!

“Um, Mum, we are coming with you, aren’t we? Because (and sorry to have to tell you this), we actually have more fans than you do on this blog.”]  

Before I metthe HH, I’d read exactly one science fiction novel (Arthur C. Clarke’s Childhood’s End, when I was about twelve) and seen only the standard TV shows or movies, such as Star Trek (in all its incarnations–though Deep Space really was an inferior specimen, don’t you think?) or Planet of the Apes.  It’s not that I’m uninterested in what might be happening on other planets or other universes; it’s just that, frankly, I have a hard enough time dealing with just this one–I mean, who needs more stress? 

Still, as a huge fan of all types of film (except anything with violence–which, I suppose, eliminates just about everything on screen these days, even down to Shrek the Third or Get Smart ), I was perfectly agreeable when the HH offered to introduce some of his favorite SF films to me, shortly after we first got together (of course, I was still trying to impress him back in those days, so I was pretty much agreeable to almost anything he suggested*). 

From La Jetée (the inspiration for Twelve Monkeys, aka The Only Film in which Pretty Boy Brad Pitt was Actually Any Good) to the original The Day the Earth Stood Still to Blade Runner, I have to admit I’ve enjoyed them all.  And these days, we’re both hooked on Battlestar Gallactica,  that terrific Canadian-U.S. co-production that’s not only well written and well performed, but a fascinating allegory for today’s political and religious climates (oh, and hunky Jamie Bamber in the role of Lee Adama doesn’t hurt, either). 

It seemed fitting, then, that I’d spy a recipe the other day for something with the oh-so-clever name of Cosmic Cookies (ie, they’re “out of this world”–get it?) at the new Planet Organic store that opened recently not too far from us. This was a monumental ouverture, as it was the first Big Organic Market north of the city (Toronto does have Whole Foods, but that’s way downtown in the tony Hazelton Lanes/Yorkville area, a far way to go for those of us orbiting out here in the ‘burbs).

cosmiccookiebite.jpg Well, I couldn’t wait to amble through the aisles and explore this newfound “planet.”  The atmosphere seemed amenable: I spent about 45 minutes inspecting the inventory, from prepared foods (salads, veggies, patties, croquettes, loaves, etc.)  to vegan baked goods (the orange-cranberry muffin I bought was, unfortunately, disappointing) to pastas, produce and packaged goods. 

Pleased overall, I ended up purchasing “just a few things” (at the checkout, once I regained the ability to breathe, I calculated that my little spree worked out to approximately $1.00 per minute. Clearly, this is no impoverished planet).

Here’s my haul:

1) Veggie patties.  Fittingly alien-looking with nubby edges and a deep carmine color, these little creatures were a mélange of carrots, beets, almonds, and an array of spices.  A bit too sweet for my taste; nevertheless, good lunch food.

2) Teriyaki tofu “steaks.”  Basically the first tofu recipe I ever cooked for myself: slabs of tofu marinated in the ubiquitous mix of soy sauce, ginger, something sweet and garlic. These were fine, if less than inspired.

3) A slice of bison meatloaf for the HH.  He loved it.  Enough said.

4) The pièce de resistance, the holy grail, the UFO (Unidentified Flour Object) I’d been seeking for weeks: a bag of coconut flour. I’d read about this elusive ingredient many times (it’s a mainstay in Deb’srecipes) but had never been able to find it before.  The coconut flour will provide me with hours of kitchen fun, playing with recipes for yet more cakes, cookies, bars, muffins, or pies free of wheat, eggs or dairy–and now, perhaps, free of gluten, too (it’s a GF flour).

In the meantime, I whipped up a batch of the store’s own Cosmic Cookies, a signature sweet made primarily of oats, seeds, raisins, chocolate chips and coconut.  I was so fixated on my coconut flour that I forgot to add the shredded coconut to the mix; they still came out fine. Since the store published the recipe in their own flyer, I assumed they wouldn’t mind my sharing it here as well.  

And though I enjoyed my visit to the store, I think I’ll restrict any future inter-planetary shopping to just the coconut flour. As much as I enjoyed the visit, it seems more like a special-occasion, rather than a regular, destination. Just like every other planet.

*No, nothing like that, you perverts!

Planet Organic’s Cosmic Cookies (verbatim from their flyer)

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

cosmiccookieinside.jpg

I modified this recipe ever so slightly. These are not too sweet and very filling, yet somehow, strangely addictive.  Could it be the extra-terrestrial influence?

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

12 Responses to “Close Encounters with Cookies from Another Planet”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Haha, that’s cute about the Sci-Fi films and all that ;0)

    LOVE those cosmic cookies – great recipe variation!

  2. Romina Says:

    I’ve heard so many good things about Planet Organic’s Cosmic cookies, but I’ve never tried them. Now I have no excuse not to!


  3. Oh I’m so glad you liked the cereal. I’m glad I can contribute something that you enjoy because I am planning on making a boatload of your recipes this summer, now that I have some extra time.

    Thanks again for the carrot pate recipe! My whole family loved it… and it was a great way to use up those extra carrots.

    Your little flying saucer cookies look spectacular; I’m just like you—growing up, I think the only sci-fi book I ever read was A Wrinkle in Time. When the Harry Potter series became popular, I had no interest in reading the books… but my sister coerced me to read the first one, and I discovered I don’t hate fantasy/sci-fi as much as I thought. I can even say that I’ve seen all the Star Wars’ movies multiple times.

  4. Susan Says:

    Coconut flour? Hmmmm….something new! Gotta try it *after* I find it. : )

    Yummy comfort cookies, Ricki! “The Day the Earth Stood Still” is one of my favorite classic sci-fi’s. Klaatu Barrada Nikto!

  5. Johanna Says:

    Love the sound of these cookies and a great name! Hope to try them soon. Seems a great way to use up some of the things I have bought when popping into the shops for just a few things and being distracted!

    I have got to enjoy some sci-fi thanks to E who loves the stuff. I asked him about battlestar gallactica and he said it played on a commerical channel which messed with the times (do they do that in Canada where they change the time every week and then it disappears altogether?).

  6. holler Says:

    Nice cookies and what a haul!

  7. Ricki Says:

    VeggieGirl,
    Thanks! The cookies really are a meal-in-a-treat; just one and you’ve had enough! And they ARE yummy.

    Romina,
    I was really glad the store gave out this particular recipe, because the ones in-store (which I finally bought, just to see if they came out the same at home) are ridiculously expensive. If you’re willing to take 45 minutes of your time to bake them, you can have fresher ones at home!

    CCV,
    I forgot to mention Harry and Star Wars, both of which I’ve encountered (though I’ve only read 2 of the HP books). I have to admit there is, indeed, something good to enjoy in all of them!🙂

    Susan,
    I had the same problem finding the flour–now I’m rationing my recipes because it’s such a rarity! And I guess that line in the movie sticks with you–when I told my sweetie I was writing about it, that’s exactly what he said!

    Johanna,
    They do sound sort of like “kitchen sink” cookies, but somehow everything works together. Sorry you missed out on Battlestar Galactica! I think it is really worth getting the DVDs. The HH has been watching it since season one, but I only got involved in the 2nd season, and am totally hooked. Fabulous writing, and weird, non-linear, mysterious storylines. . . you get mental exercise while being entertained!

    Holler,
    I have to admit I felt sort of like one of those women who wins a shopping spree on a game show–I go a little crazy in those kinds of stores, especially when everything is new and delicious-looking!

  8. Kiki Says:

    Planet Organic is such a fun name! You sound like me the first time I stepped foot in an organic market. We are lucky enough to have a few different places where I can get great deals on a lot of organic products that actually make them cheaper or an equivalent cost to traditional products. How cool is that?!?

    I’m definitely going to add these cookies to my “to bake” list. The husband is a cookie monster (as well as a die-hard Battlestar fan) and these sound right up his alley! Thanks so much for sharing!

  9. Vegan_Noodle Says:

    I had a boyfriend that got me into scifi for a little while. The closest I’ve gotten lately is watching return of the jedi (does that count?)

    And wow, the close up of those cookies is making me drool. Just had lunch and now I want something sweet!

  10. Ricki Says:

    Kiki,
    You’re so lucky to have such great organic selection–and at a great price, too! But we make do here😉 . And I’m thrilled to find another Battlestar Galactica fan!!

    Vegan Noodle,
    But of course it counts! I forgot to mention that I’ve seen those movies, too, and enjoyed them. Glad you like the look of the cookies!

  11. Lily Says:

    I totally agree – Deep Space 9 was the stinker of the bunch🙂
    I think I’m going to go home and make some trail mix cookies… Thanks for the inspiration!

  12. Syn Says:

    So reading your latest post makes me realize that I have to explore the wide world of breakfast foods! I usually just eat kammut flakes or oat meal… that french toast looks to die for!


Leave a Reply

