Important Matters. . . and Gratitude

May 21, 2008

As much as I love modern technology, I still believe there are times when good old fashioned paper-and-pen are in order.  For instance, I always buy a “real” card (versus an e-card) for birthdays, anniversaries, or other special occasions (graduation, etc.), even if I send along an e-card as well.  I make an effort to write thank-you notes by hand after being invited to someone’s home for a dinner party, or to thank someone for a special gift. 

So please, for today, think of this blog entry as being on paper, and written with a beautiful, elegant antique fountain pen.  That’s how I’d express my gratitude for the “Nice Matters” blog award I received yesterday from Susan at The Well-Seasoned Cook.  Susan’s recipes are mouth-watering, her photos are breathtaking, and she writes with a relaxed, friendly style that feels like you’ve been invited over to your best girlfriend’s for a coffee and a cookie bake-off. 

Thanks so much, Susan! (I’ll take a day or two to ponder the award so I can then forward it to other bloggers.)

But another card goes out to all of you who regularly stop by, read, and comment on this blog. In the (fairly) short time I’ve been blogging, I’ve come to understand why so many of you out there do this on a regular basis.  Sure, I love writing, and sure, I love food.  But what makes the endeavor truly gratifying, and what makes it feel most worthwhile, is hearing from all of you, knowing you are visiting, and the exchange and support that goes on via this wacky, wonderul medium that is the Internet. 

So thanks, as always, for reading and for your wonderful feedback–it would truly not be the same without you! 

11 Responses to “Important Matters. . . and Gratitude”

  1. Romina Says:

    Congratulations, Ricki! You truly deserve every reward that comes your way. =) Your entries always make me laugh, think and I admire your perceptiveness. Keep it up!

  2. shellyfish Says:

    Congrats to you! And I agree with Romina, it’s a well-deserved award indeed.
    I relate well to your feelings concerning your blog. A very isolated-from-the-vegan-community vegan, I started my blog this year to commune and “break bread” with others out there. I found your blog back in February (as a baby blogger) with Susan V’s Valentine’s Day challenge, and have enjoyed visiting ever since! Your food brought me in, your prose keeps me coming for seconds!

  3. VeggieGirl Says:

    Ricki, you are THE most-deserving blogger for this award – congratulations, and keep up the great work!!! You now I’ll continue to be a loyal reader, as always :0)

  4. Lizzie Says:

    And thank you for writing your blog. I have a feeling I’m not the only one who smiles gleefully when she see’s you have written a new post.

    Congrats Ricki! A well-deserved award🙂


  5. I can’t think of anyone who deserves this award more. Your comments on my blog always put a smile on my fae– you really ARE one of the nicest bloggers I know.

  6. Lucy Says:

    You are Nice. Very Nice.

    Well done, you! X

  7. Courtney Says:

    Congratulations! You deserve that award–you are so sweet and comment back to everyone who leaves comments on your blog. Your posts are always thoughtful and witty and a pleasure to read!

    I am happy for you :o)

    Courtney

  8. Johanna Says:

    a well deserved reward and a generous reply (I’d expect nothing less of you) – your mother would be proud of you for keeping yourself nice

  9. Susan Says:

    Pen to paper is, indeed, a lost art. The internet necessitates a quick tech reply, but there’s something slow and glorious about snail mail and the golden pleasures of opening up a hand-written note. Thanks, Ricki!

  10. Ricki Says:

    Thanks, everyone, for your very kind comments. It’s really an honor for me to get this award, and is much appreciated.

    I’ve said it before, and it totally bears repeating: you guys are the BEST. It’s why I love blogging!🙂


Leave a Reply

