Cookbook Winner!

June 21, 2008

Well, we have a winner of the cookbook contest! 

First, thank you all so much for your entries; it was wonderful to learn about so many new cookbooks! I’m definitely going to have to get The Passionate Vegetarian–I mean, with an author named Crescent Dragonwagon, how could I resist?  Thanks, Jackie and Astra! I think I’ll also look into The New Farm Vegetarian (thanks, Shelly); Madhur Jaffrey’s World Vegetarian (thanks, Holler and Brett); ReFresh (thanks, Brandy and Debyi); The Crank’s Bible (thanks, Sue); Going Wild in the Kitchen (thanks, Cheryl); and the classic Linda McCartney’s Home Cooking (thanks, Courtney).  Oh, and Vijita–how lucky for you to have stayed at Laura’s B&B! 

Really, all your descriptions sounded so good, I think I want to go out and buy them all.  And I loved the memories brought back by Megan’s mention of the Betty Crocker book (my mom used to make cookies from it all the time), Michelle’s mention of the Silver Palate (I still love that one!), and Hallie’s mention of Joy of Cooking (it really is a great reference, isn’t it?). 

Another thing I loved about this contest:  it got so many of you commenting!  Fifty-seven entries in all–wow!  I really love hearing from you all, and hope you’ll keep on commenting now that you’ve made yourselves known, contest or no contest! Thanks, all.🙂

Okay: so on to the WINNER!  I had thought to try the random number generator, but in the end decided to go with an old-fashioned draw from a big bowl of paper slips.  I used strips of old newspaper (so as not to generate extra garbage) and wrote the numbers on them: 

 

And then, I had my assistant help me choose one:

So, the lucky winner is number 54–Katy!  Katy, please contact me via email (at dietdessertdogs AT gmail DOT com, or just leave a comment on this post) so you can tell me which book you’d like from the list, as well as your address so I can mail you your book.  Congratulations!

Thanks again, everyone.  This was really fun!  And most importantly, thanks for all your support over these past 230 days (now 235!), visiting the blog, continuing to read, and providing your great feedback.  What did I ever do before I discovered blogging?

Have a great weekend, everyone.

 

12 Responses to “Cookbook Winner!”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Congratulations to Katy!

  2. Katy Says:

    I can’t believe I won! It’s taken me about an hour to decide, but I think I choose ExtraVeganza. All those cookbooks look so good!
    Thanks Ricki!

  3. Lucy Says:

    Congrats, Katy!

    I second Cranks Bible and, if you can get it, Enjoy by the same authour – the beautiful Nadine Abensur. She’s Moroccan/French/Jewish and now lives in the idyllic, hippie haven of Byron Bay here in Aust.

    Isn’t Cresent Dragonwagon THE best name? Ever?

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a good looking assistant…

  4. Cecilia Says:

    congrats Katy, you really deserve that book!! And thank you Ricki once again for your generosity!!

  5. shellyfish Says:

    Congrats to Katy and thanks Ricki, I for one have a new list of cookbooks to look into!

  6. Johanna Says:

    Glad you had fun picking the number – sounds more fun than a computer program! and once my broadband stops its go-slow mood I will look forward to perusing the comments with all the new ideas on cookbooks!

  7. holler Says:

    Well done Katy! And while I am at it well done Ricki, it was a really nice idea and fun to read everyone’s suggestions. I have noted a few of them down!


  8. Darn, well your assistant picked the right name, just with the wrong spelling ;o)

  9. giz Says:

    Way to go Katy!!! You’ll have to share some of the recipes with us.

    That assistant of yours has those “please be my friend lab eyes” that are entirely irresistible. “I’ll do whatever you want as long as I get something to eat and I don’t really care much about what it is”.

  10. Vegan_Noodle Says:

    Congrats Katy!! And thanks Ricki for putting on the contest. Now I’ve added some cookbooks to my list as well!

  11. veganhomemade Says:

    Yes, congrats to Katy and thanks to Ricki for her generous contest offerings!

  12. Jackie V Says:

    Congratulations, Katy! Sorry I’m posting late! I’ve had 5 grandchildren with me, and not used to that, but it was so great to be with them as they live in another state and I don’t get to see them often enough!

    You’re going to love “The Passionate Vegetarian”, Ricki!


Leave a Reply

