Dog Day: Dog Days of Summer

July 7, 2008

The Girls love the glorious sunshine and heat, but spending too much time frolicking outside can take its toll. . . .

[“Oh, Mum, I just adore summer–especially getting sprayed by the garden hose!”]

[“Really, Chaser,  how puerile. Personally, I prefer to keep my distance from the hose and hang here by Dad’s foot.”]

[“Ooooh. . . maybe I have overdone it, just a bit. . .just need to rest here a minute under the patio furniture. . . “]

[“It IS beginning to feel rather hot out here about now, I  must admit.”]

[“Ah, thanks for letting me in, Mum. It’s much better here in the house, on these cool ceramic tiles. . . “]

[“Zip it, Chaser, I’m trying to sleep. “]

22 Responses to “Dog Day: Dog Days of Summer”


  1. I love when you post pictures of your adorable doggies!

  2. BitterSweet Says:

    What cuties- My dog is the same! She loves to sun bathe and then cool off for a bit on the tile floor before going back out to again. 🙂


  3. I wish my dog would appreciate a good cooling off with the garden hose on a hot day, but he acts like I’m butchering him! I finally discovered that if I take a wet washcloth and “pet” him with it, he’ll let me get him pretty wet and of course he’s much more comfortable after that.


  4. Awwww, they’re so beautiful!

  5. Johanna Says:

    oh those crazy loveable pups! Makes me miss summer afternoons in the backyard

  6. Astra Libris Says:

    Ricki, the girls are soooo cute! Their beautiful puppy faces always bring a smile to my day!

  7. dhanggit Says:

    🙂 such a cutey!!! he reminds me of Laise our dog..we needed to shave her up for summer coz most of the time she would jump straight into the pool to freshen up LOL


  8. they are just too cute! I miss having a doggie, but my cats say they’d rather the dogs be in the computer.

  9. Lizzie Says:

    What a smile that brought to my face! Henry can learn a few things from Elsie — he seems to be scared of hoses.

    Whenever I leave my patio door open he goes outside and lays in the sun for about five minutes and comes back in and lays on the cool floor inside. He does this about twenty times in a row — silly Henry.

  10. Lizzie Says:

    Whoops… it’s Chaser that likes the hose😉

  11. holler Says:

    Aww, poor things, they must be really feeling the heat! My cats love lying in the sun until they get way overhearted, silly things!

  12. HONI Says:

    my pups are so spoiled they run outside to peepee and run right back inside to lay on the floor lol.. I get them out at dusk for a bit to play. in these hot days of summer my big dogs become house dogs lol

  13. Lucy Says:

    Yep.

    There is no more fun in this world to be had than getting sprayed with the garden hose!

  14. giz Says:

    You’ve taught your dogs so well Ricki – maybe you could get them working the phone lines and making some money and keep you in style. I mean, they’re already talking….I’m just saying.

  15. shellyfish Says:

    My childhood pup Maggie used to love running through the sprinkler with us when we were kids! My dad would set it up in the yard when it got too hot and we had so much fun!

  16. Susan Says:

    I wonder if the girls would like one of those oscillating sprinklers that you hook up to the hose. (No, I’m not selling them. : D) Great shots, Ricki! Critters always make my day. Just ask our cat.

  17. Ricki Says:

    CCV,
    I’m so glad–I mean, I love them of course, but don’t expect anyone else to!

    VeggieGirl,
    Thanks!

    BitterSweet,
    That’s so neat–I’m always surprised when someone else’s dog behaves the same as mine. . . but of course it makes sense!

    Lulu,
    Well, your dog sounds like Elsie (dread fear of the hose). I’m going to try the washcloth trick, thanks!🙂

    destinyskitchen,
    Thanks so much! (But I’d better not tell Elsie, or it might go to her head. . .).😉

    Johanna,
    It’ll be summer there again before you know it (and, unfortunately, winter over here!)

    Astra Libris,
    I’m so glad they make you smile, too–love to share the puppy love!

    dhanggit,
    Thanks so much for your comment, and for visiting! I’m sure Chaser would love the pool, if only we had one!

    Cheryl,
    I definitely see the cats’ perspective on this one; neither of my Girls is too cat-friendly, unfortunately.

    Lizzie,
    Henry’s not silly–pretty smart, I’d say, to be able to sun as much as he wants and still cool off in between (and have a human who lets him in and out, maybe?)😉

    holler,
    seems to be the way with animals–they love the sun and don’t feel it enough to come inside. Elsie does get really hot with all that black fur, but I try to keep her cooled down with a little water on the fur!

    Honi,
    I know what you mean! Elsie (the all-black one) does seem to prefer the cool tiles inside, though she hates it when anyone is outside without her.

    Lucy,
    I must admit, I’ve joined in on more than one occasion😉

    giz,
    If only! Unfortunately, they’re more like that talking frog from the old Bugs Bunny cartoons–silent when anyone else is around.

    Shellyfish,
    That’s so cute! What kind of dog did you have? What a great memory.🙂

    Susan,
    Glad to amuse! You’re right on the mark re: Chaser, but Elsie would shy away from any sprinkler, I think.

  18. lindsaynixon Says:

    Yay! photos of your beautiful pooches always makes me smile (and want to give them a big hug!)

  19. Andrea Z Says:

    Dog smiles on a summer day — the perfect accompanyment to — anything!


  20. Your dogs are so adorable – the black and tan cutey looks like my King🙂

  21. Vegan_Noodle Says:

    They are so cute! Thanks for sharing photos of the girls🙂


Leave a Reply

