Sweet Freedom: Quick Cookbook Update

September 11, 2008

I’ve been plugging away at the cookbook and just wanted to post a quick update for those who are interested.  A few things:

1.  Cookbook Group: I’ve started a Facebook group for anyone who’d like to hear how the publication is progressing, learn when the book is finally out (projected publication date is early 2009), or contribute ideas, questions, comments, or photos of any of the items you’ve already tried (most of the baked goods on this blog will also be in the cookbook–so if you’ve ever baked anything from DDD and have feedback or photos, PLEASE feel free to post them on the group page, or just let me know!)  To join the group, you can go here.   Would love to see you there! 

2.  Testers Wanted:  Although many of the recipes, as I’ve mentioned before, have already been tested because they were sold through my baking company, I still have to adapt some of them for the home cook and am creating new ones as well for the book.  And so. . . I’m now actively soliciting recipe testers.  This would involve a bit of work and, most importantly, feedback to me about the recipes.  If you’ve got time to bake up a storm over the next month or so and are interested, please email me in the next few days at dietdessertdogsATgmailDOTcom or sweetfreedomcookbookATgmailDOTcom.  Thanks!

3. To help you get in the dessert kind of mood, here are some recently baked items that will be in the book (they’ll be posted on the Sweet Freedom blog and Facebook page as well):

Coconut Cream Pie: 

Chocolate Chip Cookies:

Glazed Chocolate Orange Torte:

Old Fashioned Raisin-Spice Cake:

“But Mum. . .does this mean WE can’t be your taste-testers anymore?  Because you know how much we love your baked goods. . . ”

24 Responses to “Sweet Freedom: Quick Cookbook Update”

  1. Celine Says:

    gah! you make me wish I had both a facebook account, and the time/right frame of mind to do some testing for you right now. I have no doubt that a lot of people will jump on the fantastic opportunity, though, but for now I will just go sit on the floor and cry.


  2. I didn’t know you were working on a cookbook! Very cool.

  3. Katy Says:

    Everything looks deeeelicious!

  4. shellyfish Says:

    I’d like to type something interesting, but I keep looking at the picture of the coconut cream pie and drooling all over the keyboard…

  5. Vegan_Noodle Says:

    Umm, I am definitely in the mood now for that coconut cream pie!! I am so glad you’re keeping us updated on your cookbook progress! And I would so be your friend on facebook if I had an account. Thought of using myspace?

  6. VeggieGirl Says:

    I joined the group on Facebook🙂

    NEED ANY TASTE-TESTERS!??!?!?!?!?😀


  7. I’m going to go find you on facebook right this very minute!

  8. Courtney Says:

    I am e-mailing you right now–I would love to be a tester! Everything looks amazing!

    Courtney

  9. Lizzie Says:

    TOO COOL! I am so joining your facebook group. And be prepared for an email from me to taste any gluten-free recipes you may have🙂

    I’m so excited for your cookbook Ricki!


  10. I’ll be happy to make versions of some of your gf, soy-free dishes to take photographs for your book. We can email back and forth when you want to connect about that. Fortunately or unfortunately, I have not yet gotten sucked into Facebook yet, so I can’t join your group there. But I’m thrilled you’re doing a cookbook, Ricki!


  11. I’m so happy for you! But I’m also pouting, because school starts this month, and I’ll be too busy with that to help test recipes. :o(

    I can’t wait till the cookbook is out though! I pretty much want to shove my face in that pie…

  12. Johanna Says:

    those photos especially that coconut cream pie look amazing – it’s exciting to hear your plans are really coming together – will be looking foward to this cookbook

  13. BitterSweet Says:

    As much as I’d love to be a test, I don’t know if I would have the time to give it 100% of my attention… I really wish I could though! However, I’d definitely be happy to review the book when it’s finally released. I can’t wait to see it! 🙂


  14. Now I’ll finally have to join facebook. I’ve put it off forever. The pics have me drooling…and count me in on the tester squad!

  15. holler Says:

    And … who can blame them for loving your cakes!


  16. Hello Vegan Queen of Chocolate and Dogs! (I will visit your kingdom often, because I love both chocolate and dogs.)

  17. Diann Says:

    I will email you and beg you to let me be a tester!

  18. giz Says:

    Yowzer Ricki, you’re moving at breakneck speed. You really need to get Elsie an apron – she’s beginning to feel neglected and would feel so much better if you let her actually cook in the kitchen.

    The pictures and recipes look fantastic.

  19. Astra Libris Says:

    Ricki, I didn’t know you were working on a cookbook – I’m SO excited!! I can’t wait to scoop it off the shelves when it arrives!! Hooray for you!! Now I know what everyone in my family is getting for the holidays as soon as your book is published! SO awesome!!


  20. Oh man, I wish I were more into baking. I could generally use some cooking inspiration right now. I’ll join your Facebook group anyway for vicarious thrills. Too bad I can’t get my doggie to do the baking. He of course confines his activities to eating and protecting the food.

  21. Julz Says:

    OMFG!!! A cookbook! Ahh I’m joining the fb IMMEDIATELY! This is SO freaking cool! I am OBSESSED with your recipes and SO psyched for this! Weeee🙂

  22. Julz Says:

    -PS- CAN I PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE be a tester?

  23. mihl Says:

    Good luck with everything! I’d really, really love to be a tester. But testing cookies and stuff wouldn’t be too good for my waistline so I think I`ll stick to drooling over everything I see here.

  24. Ricki Says:

    Hi Everyone,
    THANKS SO MUCH, all of you, for your wonderful comments and support! And thanks to all the volunteers who asked to be testers. I’m wrapping up the paperwork and will contact the testers this week! I really appreciate everyone’s input and feedback testers or no–keep those comments coming!
    Ricki🙂


Leave a Reply

