Menu for Hope V

December 16, 2008

 Last year around this time, I had just barely dipped my toes into the worldwide ocean of blogging.  In no time, I started to see blog posts popping up for a fundraiser called Menu for Hope.  6a00d83451bc0669e20105365fd073970c-640wi This is a fundraising event started five years ago by Pim of Chez Pim, initially to help the victims of the tsunami in Southeast Asia, but later to provide help to anyone in need.  Last year, the initiative raised almost $100,000 to help feed needy people worldwide via the UN World Food Programme.

Here’s how it works:  for nine days in December, you have the chance to donate $10 and receive a virtual raffle ticket, to bid on an amazing prize of your choice (donated by food bloggers from all over the world).  At the end of the month, the tickets are drawn and prizes awarded (results announced on Chez Pim). Prizes, organized by geographic location, ranged from gourmet foods to cooking classes to wine and chocolates to magazine subscriptions to cookbooks to kitchen utensils and everything in between, with some truly jaw-dropping offerings.  (To learn about all the prizes being offered from Canada this year–including this one–visit Meena’s blog, Hooked on Heat; or go to Chez Pim for links to prizes from around the world).

Well, I knew immediately that I wanted to participate, but was too much a newbie to get in on the fun last year.  I bought some raffle tickets instead.

This time round, and especially with so many people in need this year, I’m happy to say I have a prize of my own to offer to help raise funds!  If you’d like to bid on my prize, here it is:

My Prize:  Code CA05 

    magcoverbig   A Year’s Subscription to Martha Stewart Living Magazine and Organic Coconut Oil!

As a foodie, you love to do it:  sneak peeks at Martha’s gorgeous mag in the checkout line, the bookstore, or the waiting room.  It’s a beautiful, lush, impeccably-produced periodical with amazing recipes and photos–the kind of photos we food bloggers would love to reproduce ourselves. 

And Martha can always be counted on to provide delicious recipes made with fresh, real ingredients, with lots of allergen-free and vegetarian/vegan options in the mix.

Would you love to win a year’s subscription to the magazine, plus a huge jar (1 kilo or 2 pounds) of organic coconut oil to bake with? To bid on this prize (or any other prize), just head on over to the main donation page where you’ll see all the prizes listed.  Remember, the code for my prize is CA05.

Then just follow these instructions:

1. Choose your prize(s) from the main page at chez pim, or any of the regional pages (listed on her site).

2. Head over to  the donation site , and make a donation.

3. Each $10 you donate will give you one raffle ticket toward a prize of your choice. Please specify which prize you’d like in the ‘Personal Message’ section in the donation form when confirming your donation. You must write-in how many tickets per prize, and please use the prize code.

For example, a donation of $50 can be 2 tickets for CA 05 and 3 tickets for UW 13; please write 2xCA05, 3xUW 13 in the form. For other prizes, use the same format with their codes.

4. If your company matches your charity donation, please check the box and fill in the information so they can claim the corporate match.

5. Please allow the site to see your email address so they can contact you in case you win.  Your email address will not be shared with anyone.

Entering the raffle is a fun way to donate to those in need this year, and perhaps win some amazing prizes as well.  It’s only $10–still a fairly small sum for most of us–but it will make a world of difference to someone else.

And another prize to come. . . .

Because the Menu for Hope prizes are offered to everyone across the country or even the continent, they must be items that can be shipped to the winner, wherever s/he may be. 

But for those in the Greater Toronto area, I’ve got another prize up my sleeve (well, really, my potholder) that I’ll post about anon! 

In the meantime, get on over to the Menu for Hope donations page and buy some raffle tickets!

Mum, that’s a great idea, really. . . but are there any canine-friendly prizes offered?  Maybe you should offer a signed photo of the two of us in the kitchen. . . well, it’s food related.”

elsiebigtongue

10 Responses to “Menu for Hope V”

  1. Liz Says:

    The Martha Stewart Living Magazine is a great thing to bid on, but I have to admit that I’d prefer the signed photo of Elsie and Chaser. Or shall I say, Henry would. 🙂

  2. Meeta Says:

    great to see you taking part ricki. here’s to all the help we can gather for this great cause!

  3. Pearl Says:

    Kudos to you for taking part in that! 🙂

  4. aTxVegn Says:

    I’m glad you get to be a part of this event this year.


  5. This is such a fantastic idea! How cool that you get to offer your own prize! And you picked an awesome prize, Ricki!!

  6. AstraLibris Says:

    I agree with The Girls – I vote for the signed puppy photo!🙂

    What a beautiful human prize you’re offering, too!🙂

  7. Jenn S Says:

    Haha I know! I was afraid to post it. I thought my fellow vegans would think I’ve gone too far. But the taste really did remind me of childhood, so I guess I’ll just let it slide🙂
    Thank you.

  8. shellyfish Says:

    I need to check all this out! Sounds great to me, and I think you have super prize! If a few years ago someone had told me I would be checking out Martha’s web site (and maybe her mag) I would have thought them on crack. I love how we constantly prove ourselves wrong.

    And why aren’t I near Toronto?

  9. meg wolff Says:

    Ricki,
    I thought you had been blogging for longer than that! And there’s that cute dog again!

  10. Andrea Says:

    This is a great idea. I’m going to check out the donation site. And perhaps I should take a second (or am I up to third) look at Martha, too.


Leave a Reply

