Bean There, Done That: Gluten-Free Brownies

February 1, 2008

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS HAS MOVED!

If you’re reading this page, you’ve landed on the old site. Please visit the new location by clicking here–and don’t forget to update your readers and blogrolls!

As always, thank you for reading.  I look forward to seeing you at the shiny new home of Diet, Dessert and Dogs!

Mum, we are coming with you, aren’t we?  Because (and sorry to have to tell you this), we actually have more fans on this blog than you do.”

gfbrownie2.jpg

Years ago, when I taught a course called “Feeding Body and Soul,” students were asked to contribute a recipe that had been handed down in their family as a way to illustrate the power of food through the generations.  One young woman (who, in her words, had been “raised by hippies”) gave me a recipe for Navy Bean Muffins, made from the usual ingredients but using pureed navy beans instead of flour.  I thought this twist was just groovy, man, and resolved to some day make them myself. 

Well, that day hasn’t yet arrived, but I did think of beans as the perfect addition to my GF brownies, about which I posted last Monday. This recipe for Gluten-Free Brownies is one of three for chocolate treats with hidden healthy ingredients, just up today on VegFamily magazine. To see the other two as well, check out the entire article

The hidden gem in these rich, chocolately squares is pureed beans.  Now, before you go running to the hills, consider that many gluten-free recipes contain bean flours (such as chickpea, gram, soybean, etc.), so this recipe just takes the concept a step back, to the unprocessed, whole beans before they’re dried and pulverized.  And beans add a great boost of protein to any recipe, along with both soluble and insoluble fiber, and a host of minerals. 

Initially, I thought that pureeing the beans in a food processor would be sufficient, but found the final product a bit grainy that way.  But cooking the beans really well, then pureeing in a blender, did seem to do the trick.

Because of the added loveliness of the legumes, I’m going to submit this recipe to My Legume Love Affair, hosted by The Well-Seasoned Cook.  

Oh, and Sally, this one’s for you! 🙂

Gluten-Free Chocolate-Walnut Brownies  

FOR THE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS BY CLICKING HERE.

16 Responses to “Bean There, Done That: Gluten-Free Brownies”

  1. Romina Says:

    Those look too good to be true. I just keep staring and staring.


  2. I’ll have to skip the soy part, but awwwwww, thanks! They look incredible.

  3. Johanna Says:

    wow these look much better than the ones I tried recently – definitely want to give these a go soon BUT I only have a food processor not a blender and I was wondering if I can substitute sugar or some other sweetner for the Succanat and some other flour for the sorghum? After one dodgy batch I would love a success with beanie brownies.

  4. Ricki Says:

    Romina,

    Thanks! And they ARE delicious.

    Sally,

    I think almond milk would do fine as a substitute, and probably add another dimension of flavor, too.

    Johanna,

    Well, I’m not sure how that many substitutions would fare here, as the recipe seemed pretty delicate (I tried it 3 or 4 other times with just minor adjustments, and the others didn’t work).

    I really think the blender is essential if you don’t want detectable bits of bean in the brownies–do you have a hand-held one? (Since you blend the beans with the milk, that might work–you could do it in a tall cup or deep bowl).

    You can definitely substitute brown sugar for Sucanat (which is basically dehydrated sugar). Regular brown sugar would probably make the brownie even moister. As to the sorghum, I really don’t know how something else would work out. I tried brown rice flour, which was dreadful, and bean flour, which created a much heavier product. The closest thing I can think of would be arrowroot flour, but you’d probably have to mix it with 50% regular flour.

    If you do dare to try them with all these changes, let me know how they come out! 🙂

  5. carrie Says:

    these look AWESOME and I’ve been looking for a brownie recipe using beans for ages!!! Really!! I heard about this one lady who used them for her favorite chocolate cake, and I’ve never been able to find a recipe that looks like it would work! This looks awesome! What did you use for the frosting??

  6. Ricki Says:

    Carrie,
    Thanks so much, and for your comment. It took a few tries, but I think I’ve nailed it. The frosting is actually my regular agave-based one that I make around here (not GF, but for me that’s not an issue). I think the brownies would be great w/o the frosting, but I’d substitute chocolate chips for the walnuts in them, then, as they aren’t excessively sweet on their own. Let me know how they turn out if you try them!


  7. […] Ahead: Gluten-free, egg-free brownies with beans in them (I’ll omit the tiny bit o’ soy)—freeze for later (thanks, […]


  8. Thanks for the brownsie recipe. Tried it and they turned out great and very yummy. Thanks for the blog – thought it was time I said hello and commented after getting so much from your blog over the last few months.

    Regards,
    Ross.

  9. Ricki Says:

    Ross,
    Thanks so much for stopping by and for your comment! It’s great to know that my blog can be of use to those on a GF diet, even though that’s not the main focus. But I do seem to cook a lot of GF recipes!


  10. […] Then when Heidi posted them on 101 cookbooks and I kept seeing them in different places, like Diet Dessert and Dogs and Have Cake Will Travel.  I was intrigued, but there were so many eggs, and more sugar than my […]

  11. always write Says:

    Ricki: Do you think a lower-fat version would turn out well — say, replacing half or 2/3 of the oil with baby applesauce or prunes?

  12. Ricki Says:

    always write,
    It’s worth a try, though I’m guessing the oil helps to bind the batter here. I’d start with half the oil and work from there.

  13. Lauren Says:

    You know, this is the first vegan baked good I’ve ever made, just because the ingredients were handy and your recipe was so easy to make low-carb! Loving the quirky bean base. The batch is in the oven–I will report back when they have been tested. Nice blog! 😀

  14. Lauren Says:

    Well, the batter sure tasted good! They never firmed up into brownies. Perhaps it takes some practice to make egg-less baked goods! They are yummy enough to eat with a spoon, though. 🙂

  15. Mark Says:

    My search for the perfect gluten free brownie continues. I am tempted to give these a try. Interesting recipe. By the way, best gluten-free brownies I’ve come across so far are the ready-made ones from a Canadian bakery called Patsypie. I bought a bag last time I visited Toronto and I couldn’t believe how good they were. (Great Peasnut Butter cookies too, incidentally.) My wife even liked them and she usually hates anything that’s gluten free. They seem to be available in the US now according to their website (www.patsypie.com), but still not in my area. Until then, I”ll buy them online. Anyhow, let’s see about your recipe….

  16. dawn Says:

    i’ve found brownies without eggs quite difficult. i might try this recipe. i was given a GFbrownie mix that is good but has to have eggs- without they do not set up well. I have not tries salba though- it might be better than flax.


Leave a comment