Lucky Comestible 4 (3): Savory Veggies with Coconut and Rice

October 11, 2008

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS HAS MOVED! PLEASE VISIT THE NEW SITE BY CLICKING HERE.

[I thought it would be fun to run a little series over here at DDD: I’ll profile one one of my favorite foods, or a food that I’ve recently discovered and enjoyed, over several days.  For this fourth edition, I’m focusing on Coconut. The series is presented on an occasional (and entirely arbitrary) basis, before I move on to the next lucky comestible. This is the third entry on coconut.]

Honestly, I can’t even remember the last time I had fried rice before I made this dish.  My mother used to cook a toned-down version of it when we were kids (basically white rice and a splash of soy sauce), and I most likely ordered some of the stuff at a Chinese restaurant back in the 1980s, but other than that, I hadn’t even thought about the concept in years–I mean, it’s called fried rice, right?  

Perhaps it was serendipity, or perhaps synchronicity–or both.  A few of weeks ago, I had bought some kale with the intention of making raw kale salad. But the avocados, despite having ripened on the counter for a few days, were still hard as baseballs. In the meantime, the kale had exhausted itself in the refrigerator and reclined at the back of the shelf, sprawled limply over the cauliflower.  That kale needed to be given a purpose, and fast.

I’d been catching up on my blog reading when this recipe , from Maureen and Aly’s blog, Mad About Udon, leapt out at me. True, the original called for collards rather than kale, but I’ve learned that most greens are amenable to standing in for their fellow leafys in most instances.

The simplicity of this dish belies its deliciousness. It’s quick, easy, and totally alluring. I realize it’s called fried rice, but, given the number of veggies in the mix (I enlisted some of that cauliflower in addition to the beans and greens), it might as well be called “Veggies with Coconut and Rice.” Whatever the appellation, it’s fantastic.  I made this three times in quick succession, and it’s now become the number one recipe of choice when we have kale in the house (having overtaken the previous frontrunner–raw kale salad). 

Thanks to Maureen for creating this masterpiece, in which coconut features prominently.  And I think it’s totally fitting that today’s recipe comes courtesy of another Canadian, since this weekend marks our Canadian Thanksgiving! if you’re celebrating this weekend, why not consider this dish as an alternative to those tired ole brussels sprouts?

To those of you giving thanks (or if you’ve simply got a day off), have a great long weekend!

Savory Fried Rice with Kale and Coconut

Adapted fom Mad About Udon

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW SITE, BY CLICKING HERE.

With just the perfect melding of salty, spicy, and crunchy, this hearty and flavorful side dish is almost a meal on its own.  As Maureen suggests, use Bragg’s instead of regular soy sauce to make this entirely gluten-free. Since I’ve altered the preparation slightly, I’m including my own version here.

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW SITE, BY CLICKING HERE.

20 Responses to “Lucky Comestible 4 (3): Savory Veggies with Coconut and Rice”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Haven’t eaten fried rice in years either 🙂

    Looove your variation AND the Mad About Udon variation – both of your blogs provide so much cooking inspiration, it’s insane (the best insane possible, of course, haha 😉 ).


  2. Rice = good.
    Kale = great.
    Coconut = terrific.
    You = the best!

  3. Sue Says:

    Ricki, I am so in awe of you! Another amazing dish, more inspiration – thanks! Hope the weather in Toronto is better than here in England – it’s tipping down! 🙂

  4. Celine Says:

    great minds: fried rice is my favorite thing, but I just made a new version of it this week after years of going without it. you rule!

  5. Barbara Says:

    how do i go about ordering your food over the internet and get it delivered to me in korea?….

    you are awesome….

  6. Lisa Says:

    Wow, that looks good. Well, except for (and I really hate to say this) the coconut – I can’t stand the stuff. But I bet it’s delicious without it, and I think I’ll give it a try. (and see, even though I don’t like coconut, I’m still checking out the recipes!)

  7. shellyfish Says:

    I see our mums used the same fried rice recipe! I forgot to tell you I got your package mailed off to you yesterday so it should arrive soon! I can’t find kale here, but this sounds so good – maybe with broccoli? And no, Guppy wasn’t in the video – though she probably thinks she is! It’s just her favorite song from that live concert.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  8. Johanna Says:

    I love fried rice – hardly ever make it at home – visited my mum yesterday and forgot to get more of her silverbeet from her garden – am kicking myself now as I could have made this recipe with it – d’oh!

  9. Vegetation Says:

    Yum! This sounds perfect for the warm weather that’s going to be showing up around here pretty soon (and I can’t remember the last time I had fried rice either, a few years at least!)

  10. Diann Says:

    This looks perfect for quick weeknight meal.

  11. Ricki Says:

    Barbara,
    Thanks for the “order”–wish I could comply! How about you just come here and join us for dinner, instead. . . . 😉

    Lisa,
    I appreciate the self-sacrifice in the name of recipes. . . but coconut’s not that bad, really! (I used to hate it as a kid, but have come to love it, actually).

    Shelly,
    I CAN’T WAIT!!! YIPPPPEEEEEEEEEE!!!
    Oh, and for the rice? You could easily use spinach or chard, I’d think, if you can get either of those.

  12. Andrea Says:

    This sounds fantastic. My husband seems addicted to kale and needs a new way to use it. I’ll pass this along. Yum.

  13. Jenn S. Says:

    Thank you! This looks fantastic. I will be making it immediately 🙂

  14. holler Says:

    This looks really good Ricki! I think I will have to stop serving rice on the side, it definitely deserves it’s own spot!

    Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

  15. ttfn300 Says:

    oh my! this sounds/looks yummy… except keeping cashews in the house is dangerous 🙂

  16. Usha Says:

    Hey Ricki, this looks so healthy and delicious…just the way I love my food…there is an award for you at my blog,please check it out 🙂

  17. anudivya Says:

    Show me cashews in anything, I am sold. This looks great.

  18. Maureen Says:

    Glad you liked the recipe! And thanks for the shout-out. Happy Thanksgiving!! Did we not have the most gorgeous weather ever this weekend in Toronto?? It was 25 today….


  19. […] like coconut, do be sure to check out Ricki’s site, as she is featuring coconut in her latest Lucky Comestible series. Chickpeas with Coconut Sauce […]

  20. Lindsay Says:

    that looks so good and fresh and filling


Leave a comment