Reubenesque Sandwich

February 7, 2008

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS HAS MOVED!

If you’re reading this page, you’ve landed on the old site.  Please visit the new location by clicking here–and don’t forget to update your readers and blogrolls!

As always, thanks for reading.  I look forward to seeing you at the shiny new Diet, Dessert and Dogs!

“Um, Mum, we are coming with you, aren’t we? Because (and sorry to have to tell you this), we actually have more fans than you do on this blog.”]

Sometimes I wish I’d lived in the 1600s.  No, not for the lack of modern excesses like cell phones or Doritos or Survivor. Not for what was, in those days, the nonchalant expectation of personal chefs, cleaners, and maids (and all for no pay!). Not for the lack of indoor plumbing, heating, electricity or even daily bathing  (as I recently learned from the way-cool book I’m reading, The Dirt on Clean). Not even because back then, people already had dogs as pets, though of course they weren’t treated as well as our canine friends are today. (“Yes, Mum, you do treat us very well.  This is a nice story, yadda yadda yadda, but when are you going to get to the part about food?”)

Allow me to clarify: when I say I would have liked living back then, I’m talking about cultural attitudes towards female pulchritude.  If today’s society held the same culturally-influenced ideals as to what is considered “beautiful” as they did in the 1600s, I’d be one fine-lookin’ piece of chattel. (Well, for the first 15 or so years of my life, anyway, after which I’d be forcibly betrothed to an old coot and made to bear six or eight children before shrivelling up like a dried dishrag and croaking from some 17th-Century pestilence).

Yes, I’ve always believed that, if only the zaftig female bodytype were still in style today, I’d have it made.  No more dieting! No more worrying about the little number printed on that tag sewn in the seam of my shirts! No more debating whether to get the elastic waist or the buttons! After all, those groups of 1600’s Rubenesque damsels in all those famous paintings could certainly have stood to get to the gym a little more often, and yet they were considered the paragon of beauty, right? 

However, since I live in the 21st century, I’m less inclined to flaunt my excess poundage.  With my recently-renewed vow to eat healthfully and also openly embrace the “now,” I’ve decided I may as well make peace with my plumpness, if not celebrate it.  Pondering all things Rubenesque, my mind naturally meandered toward the the concept of Reuben sandwiches.  Not only are they, too, pleasingly plump, but eating them may just ensure that I stay that way, as well (Bonus!).

reubenclosed2.jpg In my long-ago meat-eating days (though not as long-ago as the 1600s, mind you), I used to relish Reubens (the sandwiches, not the painter–though I suppose I’d have to concede that his work is okay).

There’s just something tantalizing about the mix of all those towering slices of pink, pickled meat, their softly shredded edges peeking out from beneath a buttered, crisply toasted piece of rye; the sour, briny haystack of sauerkraut, all smothered in creamy, sweet and tangy dressing (your choice of either Russian or Thousand Island), then capped off with a languid, softly spreading cloud of melted swiss cheese–well, the synergy of that particular combination of elements has always made my mouth water. 

I’ve encountered many recipes for vegan Reubens over the years, but nothing seemed to tickle my fancy (and my fancy is usually pretty ticklish, I can tell you*).  Then, the other evening, I finally decided to finish unpacking those fourteen boxes of cookbooks that have been waiting, patiently, in our basement since our recent move (who am I kidding?  November 12th is no longer “recent,” by any stretch of the imagination!). In the process, I happened upon my copy of Vegan with a Vengeance, and found–ta da!–a fabulous recipe for a vegan Tempeh Reuben Sandwich.

Well, since I am no longer fond of meat in any case, and since I have also determined to live in the moment, I decided, tempeh fugit! and went about preparing that sandwich. (Oooh.  I can hear the groans through the computer screen. Sorry, I couldn’t help myself).

With my mouth already watering in anticipation, I assembled the sandwich even though we were short a few key ingredients.  I was too impatient to properly marinate my tempeh,  so just steamed it in a little Braggs and water, as I normally do (which accounts for its pale countenance in the photos–sort of like a 17th Century Courtesan, come to think of it).  However, I did do up the rest of the recipe pretty much as described, except using a spelt bagel for the rye bread in the original.

The result was spectacular.  That Isa sure can whip up some great recipes! I devoured the thing in minutes, smacking my lips and licking my fingers as I imagine the denizens of King Charles’s court might have done as they sat round their enormous oak tables, imbibing and feasting. 

Not only are these sandwiches delectable, they are so chock full of filling that I daresay they themselves appear rather amply endowed. Like sandwich, like maker; eating that Reuben really did make me feel as if I inhabited a scene from a Rubens after all. Now, if only I could get that “servants at my beck and call” thing happening.

Tempeh Reuben Sandwich (adapted from Vegan with a Vengeance)

reubeninside.jpg

Rather than reprint the recipe here, I’ll tell you what I did differently from the original:

  • 1 spelt bagel, cut in half and toasted instead of pumpernickel bread
  • instead of marinating the tempeh (which I would definitely do next time), I steamed it in about 1/4 cup water and 2 Tbsp. Braggs, then brushed with olive oil and browned lightly in a skillet
  • I omitted the avocado from the sandwich, because (a) I didn’t think it would work as a substitute for cheese, and (b) we didn’t have any.

*No, I wasn’t being suggestive, just silly.  Goodness me, you people have a depraved sense of humor! 

5 Responses to “Reubenesque Sandwich”

  1. Emiline Says:

    I like Reuben sandwiches, too. I didn’t my first one until a few years ago. They are so good!
    I used to be a vegetarian, so I enjoy a lot of vegetarian/soy products.
    We don’t have tempeh here, which sucks. It’s kind of a small town.

  2. Johanna Says:

    I don’t think I have ever had a reuben sandwich but have sometimes drooled over recipes – but I just can’t get enthused enough for the work they seem to entail – sandwiches should be easy!

  3. Romina Says:

    I could not agree more. It would be great if society would view healthy looking women as the ideal, rather than woman who look like they are struggling to survive because they have no fat on their body. It only seems to be getting worse too.

    Mmm. That sandwich looks great. I’ve never had a reuben sandwich, sadly. I wasn’t sure what it was up until a few weeks ago, but it sure sounds great! And a spelt bagel? Yum!


  4. Your sandwich looks tasty.

    It’s good to keep in mind that the Rubensesque figures were partly considered attractive because they were indicative of wealth and privilege, not the norm. And it’s just as likely as anything else (more likely, really) that you (or any of us) would have been a skinny scullery maid dreaming of a bit of time off from hard work as anything else! 😉

  5. Ricki Says:

    Emiline,

    Thanks for visiting! Yes, they are yummy, aren’t they? And I have to admit I drive about 25 minutes for the tempeh–but it’s worth it!

    Johanna,
    I think you’re right about sandwiches and easy, but sometimes it is worth a bit of extra effort. The only real “work” with a Reuben is the dressing, and if you’re willing to use the already-prepared kind, it’s just a matter of slapping the ingredients together–instant happiness.

    Romina,

    The media does seem to want to promote the emaciated look. . . and while there IS a problem with overweight in most of the Western world, the opposite wouldn’t be any better, I’m afraid. As to the Reuben, if you get a chance to try it, I’d say go for it! You won’t be sorry.

    Sally,

    I once took a course in Victorian Literature that talked about weight as indicative of wealth, as you mention. Seems today the opposite is true. The other interesting indicator was how tanned women’s skin was: in those days, pale was “in” because women of leisure could sit at home (inside) all day and didn’t have to be outside, in the sun, like the workers; today, though, the opposite is true, because tanned skin represents lots of free time to sunbathe!

    Anyway, once I was dreaming about living in another era, I figured I might as well dream of being wealthy and privileged, right? 🙂


Leave a comment