Tomorrow: Cookies. Today: Reflections on ACD, Week One

March 16, 2009

[It was great to read so many positive messages from all you okra fans in response to my last post.  Who knew there were so many okra supporters out there?  Here’s to a new image for our pal okra!  To the dawning of the age of okra–a new era is born, and it’s brimming with green pods and seeds! Okra is cool!  Okra is au courant!  Okra rules! O-Kra! O-Kra! O-Kra! Whoo!]

 

[No, you’re not allowed this on the ACD diet. Image courtesy of Naijablog.]

Now that I’ve completed my first week of strict adherence to the Anti-Candida Diet (ACD), I thought I’d put down some thoughts and reactions for those of you who are contemplating embarking on it, or for those who are simply curious. (If you’re here seeking a new recipe, please come back tomorrow–we’ll have cookies!)

First, I am thrilled to say I have not veered even one iota from the procrustean parameters of the diet.  Having said that, I’m also amazed at how difficult I am finding it this time round.

Maybe I’d just forgotten how painful the process was last time, nine years ago, but I don’t recall struggling with it this much back then. Somehow, a decade made all the difference!  True, I am also nine years older, and nine years closer to the dreaded “M” stage of life. ** Or maybe those little candida critters have been pumping iron in the interim and are now more resilient than ever. 

[You are allowed burgers (sans bread)–but who would want one? Image courtesy of Beltway Confidential.]

As I mentioned in my previous post, this diet requires elimination of any food that could feed yeast or help yeast to grow (ie, allergens, toxins, etc.), leaving precious little to eat.  For omnivores, the bulk of the diet would become meat, chicken, fish, eggs. But if you don’t eat those foods, not much else remains once you cut out all grains and fruits, plus some veggies (okay, not all grains; I’m allowed 1/4 cup of one gluten-free grain per day)–not to mention sauces, condiments, alcohol, fermented foods, and so on.

Here’s what you should know if you’re curious about trying the ACD.

The Challenges:

Because I’d done this before, I was already aware of a few of these challenges, which made it a bit easier to follow the diet.  Still, it can be very difficult to stick with it unless you’re prepared for some of the following. 

  • No Dessert for You.  Since most people on this diet are addicted to sweets, cutting out the usual baked goods, puddings, candies, cakes, pies, etc. is really tough.  Initially, my body went carb-crazy and I had to eat something every two hours or so to keep my blood sugar levels steady.  This passed by day three (thankfully–it can really mess up your schedule!). I’ve also managed to create a few ACD-friendly “desserts”–which I’ll post anon.

carrot1

[Here’s your dessert on the ACD. Image courtesy of Innocent Creativity blog.]

  • Precious Few Grains. The first phase of the diet eliminates most carbs, and allows very few of the “acceptable” ones.  To my mind, it seems very similar to a low-carb or low-GI diet.  Which would make sense, I suppose, since its purpose is to starve off candida albicans–an organism that feeds on sugar (including blood sugar).
  • Hunger.  Perhaps I should more accurately designate the feeling  as “unresolved cravings.”  I mean, I can count on one hand the times I’ve experienced true hunger.  On this topic, I think Mark Bittman has something useful to say. A couple of weeks ago, I heard an interview with the man, discussing his newest tome, Food Matters.  Among other things, Bittman mentioned how his “vegan until six” diet plan helped him lose 35 pounds and regain his health. 

In the radio interview, he was asked how he managed to alter his diet so radically and still stick with the plan. His response was enlightening (and I paraphrase liberally here): “Well, consider the three major needs in our lives, for food, sleep, and sex.  We all learn to control our sexual urges fairly early on; and certainly most of us in the working world regularly ignore our need for sleep.  Yet we never, ever, in our society, are willing to allow ourselves to feel hungry.  Like needs for sex and sleep, why can’t we just ignore it when we feel hungry sometimes?” 

For me, Bittman’s comment was a little epiphany. Clearly, my appetite is telling me to eat when I don’t actually require more food; the ACD supplies all the nutritional requirements necessary. What I’m fighting is the desire for those last six Hershey kisses just because they’re left at the bottom of the bag (and really, why would you leave six little kisses sitting there?) or the mindless crunching on handfuls of Red Hot Blues because I just got home from work and dinner won’t be ready for a couple of hours and what else am I going to do while I peek intermittently at Oprah?–well, you get the idea.  Remembering Bittman’s advice this past week allowed me to overcome those cravings, at least most of the time. 

  • Die-Off Reaction.  As the yeasty beasties die off, they release toxins into the system that must then be filtered and cleared out by your own detoxification systems of liver and kidneys.  This can be tough on your body.  The second day of the diet, I was convinced I was coming down with a flu: my forehead pulsated, my muscles felt weak, all I wanted to do was sleep.  By day three, it had disappeared.  Even though you may feel worse initially, it’s important to push through.

The Benefits:

It’s been a mere seven days, but already I can recognzie a few of the benefits of this cleanse:

  • Symptoms abate.  Almost immediately, I noticed that my chronically blocked sinuses began to clear.  I had a strange sensation of, “hey! What’s all that air in my nose?” before I realized, “oh, THIS is what it feels like to breathe out of both nostrils.”  Similarly, the muscle weakness disappeared, some tummy grumblings cleared significantly, eyes were less swollen in the AM, and so on.
  • Clarity of Thought. One of the oft-mentioned symptoms of candida overload is fuzzy thinking or inability to concentrate.  This will begin to clear once the yeast begin to die off, after about 3 days or so.
  • Energy.  Yeast and other toxins sap your energy.  Once they begin to take a hike, your energy returns–and you’re suddenly intensely grateful for the extra hours you have during each day to blog, read, meditate, spend time with loved ones, or do anything else you please.

chaserrollgrass

[I concur, Mum–it’s great to have boundless energy! You should try rolling on the grass some time!]

I won’t be chronicling the events of every week in this much detail, but will likely mention the more significant milestonres every now and again as I move through the process over the next five weeks.  If anyone has any specific questions about the diet or the experience, please let me know and I’d be happy to address them in an upcoming post as well.

Um, Mum, you know that no one could be more serious about food and eating than we are.  .  . but really, I think you need to take a chill pill on this one.  Because this post is really a downer.”

girlsscaredfaces

I don’t mean this post as a downer.  The ACD will tax your willpower and force you to confront your worst eating habits. . . but that can be a really good thing.  For me, it’s a necessity.  Well, every nine years or so, anyway. 

** no, not “Marriage,” though that might throw me just as much.  I meant “Menopause.”

© 2009 Diet, Dessert and Dogs

22 Responses to “Tomorrow: Cookies. Today: Reflections on ACD, Week One”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Hang in there, Ricki!!

  2. Kiersten Says:

    I don’t think I’d be able to follow such a strict diet, but I give you a lot of credit for doing it. Good for you! Hang in there, I am sure it will get easier after another week or so.

  3. Arielle Says:

    This post is totally not a downer – somehow it has made me want to try this diet as well! (perhaps because you ended on such a high note – I would love to experience those upsides) I’m going to explore your previous posts as well as the website you linked and come up with a week or so or recipes and meal ideas so I can see what I’m getting myself into.


  4. Hmm… When I suggested the bread for you, I didn’t realize you were egg free as well. Don’t think it will work out for you but either way- here it is: http://meghantelpnerblog.com/2009/03/16/breadless-breadbreadless-bread/

  5. Jes Says:

    This post was really helpful! I’d been wondering what the ACD entailed but was too lazy to start googling it. (smile)

  6. allularpunk Says:

    i’m glad the diet is helping you out!

  7. Vegyogini Says:

    This is really interesting information. I’m so happy you’re already feeling better!

  8. DJ Karma Says:

    hmmm. Would it help to just reduce some of those yeast-inducing foods?

  9. aTxVegn Says:

    I thought this post was quite uplifting, not a downer at all. It was especially uplifting since you have stuck to the diet and feel the results. I try to think about eating only until satiated. I’m certain I’ve never been truly hungry a day in my life.

    I’m sorry I didn’t sing the okra praises. I’ve tried for 40 years to like it just a little, and I will never be a fan.

  10. jessy Says:

    it sounds pretty darn tough – but you’re do’n great! hang in there, Ricki! and i’m glad you’re already feeling some of the benefits! and that is most happyfaced, indeed!

  11. Courtney Says:

    Congrats! It sounds like you are doing great, and that you are already past the hardest part! Best of luck with the next few weeks, and I loved the update. I didn’t think it was a downer at all–very positive, actually! You are doing great!

    Courtney

  12. Andrea Says:

    I thought this post was honest and uplifting. I always find it uplifting when someone confronts challenges and makes great progress. Plus the writing is so readable – not boring at all!

    Coincidentally, I had that same “aha” about the hunger thing a few months ago. It’s not as if we’re truly hungry because we don’t have enough food; we just want stuff to eat because we do. We can control that. (maybe :D)

    Best wishes for the next 5 weeks. I hope the diet is a huge success.

  13. Heidi Says:

    I go on the anti candida diet for 2-3 weeks about once a year. The benefits are amazing as my allergies clear up, my hearing issues disappear, and my digestion issue abate. It can be difficult, especially when trying to be social which usually includes eating and drinking but the benefits are very worth it. It’s also a great time to try out some foods you don’t normally eat. I would like to point out that the bulk of your diet should be vegetables and not meat. Leafy greans and cruciferous veggies are a great way to help rebuild your stomach flora and keep candida under control. Good luck!

  14. Pearl Says:

    hang in there! you’re doing really well so far 🙂

  15. Heather Says:

    i just adore your puppies! they have such sweet faces! good luck over the next few weeks 🙂

  16. Hayley Says:

    Keep it up Ricki! It sounds like the outcome is so worth it.

  17. Kelly Says:

    I’m sorry to hear it’s been so challenging this time but you provided such a thorough post for those going through the same thing.

  18. shellyfish Says:

    I think this is really fascinating, especially because as you describe the symptoms I think of my mum who has so many health issues. Practically speaking, though, what do you eat? I would love it if you did a breakfast – lunch – dinner post, to really show what you do get to eat.
    I don’t think this post is a downer (though that cake did make my tummy rumble), and I’m with you 100% – I’m sorry it’s so tough, but you’ll feel great in the end!

  19. Ellen Allard Says:

    Hi Ricki,

    Can you point me to a source for the anti-candida diet you’re on? I’ve been gluten free for a little over three years (diagnosed with Celiac in late ’05) and think that I have some other dietary/allergy related hurdles to overcome, candida being one of them. Last summer, I had some allergy tests which showed an issue with candida, however I will confess to not doing anything about it. Instead I plod along with the usual congestion, sinus issues etc. I think, after reading about your trials and tribulations with the ADS, I’d like to give it a whirl, especially since I’ve been converting over to a vegan diet and feel like, between GF and vegan, I can take on anything:)!. Thanks for your help!

    Ellen

  20. Liz Says:

    Great, great post Ricki. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I really think I need to give the ACD a try. I just need to mentally prepare for it… if that makes any sense.

    The girls look too cute in those photos 🙂

  21. ttfn300 Says:

    so glad you have already seen so many positive changes! i find my head thinking of food all too often, especially trying to figure out what to make or post :-/ working on it 🙂

    oh, and those gorgeous pictures of chocolate cake and a burger?? why ricki???


  22. love to hear how it goes, and see the recipes, too. I’m sure it’ll go great!


Leave a comment