Lucky Comestible III(6) Meets Flash in the Pan: Avocado Mayonnaise

June 25, 2008

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS has moved! 

If you’re reading this page, you’ve landed on the old site.  Please visit the new location by clicking here–and don’t forget to update your readers and blogrolls!

As always, thanks for reading.  I look forward to seeing you at the shiny new Diet, Dessert and Dogs!

“Um, Mum, we are coming with you, aren’t we? Because (and sorry to have to tell you this), we actually have more fans than you do on this blog.” 

[I thought it would be fun to run a little series over here at DDD: I’ll profile one one of my favorite foods, or a food that I’ve recently discovered and enjoyed, over several days.  For this third entry, I’m focusing on Avocados. The series is presented on an occasional (and entirely arbitrary) basis, before I move on to the next lucky comestible.  Today’s avocado-based recipe also happens to be quick and incredibly easy, the criteria for my Flash in the Pan recipes–so it straddles both categories!] 

 

Think smooth and creamy.  Think easy and delicious. Think sandwich spread, base for sandwich fillings, foundation for dips or savory pâtés.  Think avocado mayonnaise!

This incredibly quick and equally irresistible recipe comes from the wondrous Dr. Ben Kim’s Natural Health website.  A chiropractor and acupuncturist based in Barrie, Ontario, Dr. Kim is also a fount of information on all things holistic, and he offers incredible material about healthy eating–all for free through his newsletter, of which I am an avid fan (and no, I’ve never actually met the man, just in case you think there’s a little nepotism going on here–I just really think his info is great!).

I whipped up this mayo and enjoyed a daub on some steamed artichokes, but by the time I’d finished eating them, I knew I was hooked.  I plopped some over ripe, juicy slices of beefsteak tomato for a lunch appetizer and was enthralled.  After the first taste, I wanted to scoop this out of the bowl with a spoon (come to think of it, I did scoop this out of the bowl with a spoon).

You can use this as you would any other mayo, in sandwiches, wraps, salads (it would be heavenly thinned out just a little over field greens–turns out the recipe is very much like the avocado pesto salad dressing I posted about last March).

Avocado and Basil Mayonnaise

from Dr. Ben Kim

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS BY CLICKING HERE.

This creamy, heavenly spread can be used anywhere you’d use regular mayo.  I agree with Dr. Kim:  this is the best vegan mayo I’ve ever tried.

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS BY CLICKING HERE.

25 Responses to “Lucky Comestible III(6) Meets Flash in the Pan: Avocado Mayonnaise”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Now THAT is a delectable spread – yum!


  2. It’s so verdant and beautiful! And the picture quality is gorgeous as well. What kind of camera do you use?

  3. shellyfish Says:

    Ooohhh…now this would be good on some fresh bread! (or anything else, really)

  4. Pamela Says:

    I’m definitely gonna try this. Like I need an excuse to eat avocados…

  5. Ricki Says:

    VeggieGirl,
    Thanks! Very delectable, yes–and very easy to eat!

    CCV,
    I really had to laugh when I read your comment–I’m assuming my camera is fairly inexpensive (I got it for free with airmiles). It’s an HP Photosmart R725 point and shoot camera. Believe me, any gorgeous picture quality is purely accidental! 😉

    Shellyfish,
    Oooh! Fresh bread! Now there’s an idea–thanks!!

    Pamela,
    My feelings exactly. Who needs a special reason?

  6. jessy Says:

    wow! i’m running to the store after work for some avocados. i need to make some bread this weekend for this awesomeness!

    thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. bee Says:

    what a vibrant, happy dish. i love avocados and will definitely try this.

  8. Lizzie Says:

    Yum! What a great idea for a spread. Thanks Ricki!

  9. Meg Wolff Says:

    Your avocado mayo looks absolutely devine!

  10. Katy Says:

    That spread looks wonderful! I can’t wait until I get my hands on some avocados!

    Also, I wanted to let you know that I received ExtraVeganZa yesterday. I love it! Thank you so much!

  11. Astra Libris Says:

    Oh my goodness, your avocado mayo is the best invention ever! Seriously, you deserve a nobel prize for this one – what could be better than making a healthy mayo that’s wayyyy better than mayo??!! You are my culinary heroine! I know your recipe will become a staple in our house!

  12. madcapCupcake Says:

    This sounds DELICIOUS. I am an avocado fiend. I must try this!!

  13. ClaudiaWR Says:

    Avocado Mayo? Genius!

  14. Ricki Says:

    Jessy,
    Wish I could make homemade bread as well. . . sounds like a great combo!

    bee,
    I love that description–the dish itself being vibrant and happy! But you know what? That’s how I felt when eating it!

    Lizzie,
    Thanks! Hope you enjoy it on some good GF bread!

    Meg,
    Thanks so much!

    Katy,
    So glad you got the book! I know you’ll enjoy cooking from it–it’s one of my favorites 🙂

    Astra Libris,
    This is already a staple in the DDD household, I have to admit–but wish I could take credit; I didn’t invent this one. I got it from Dr. Ben Kim’s site (who, I think, got it from someone else!!). Still delicious, though 🙂

    Melody,
    Aww, thanks!

    madcapCupcake,
    Sounds like this would be perfect for an avocado fiend–hope you enjoy it!

    Claudia WR,
    I was pretty impressed, too, when I came across the recipe–the texture is just perfect in this one. 🙂

  15. Johanna Says:

    sounds and looks much much nicer than mayonnaise! And I love your photo with the artichokes – has a real retro chic!

  16. Andrea Z Says:

    This looks great — the perfect way to highlight the luxurious texture of avocados.

  17. Ashley Says:

    Yum I love avocadoes! This may sounds like a simple guacamole, which is delicious.


  18. i am already addicted to avocado spreads! now I am going to eat even more avocados!!!!!!

  19. Ashley Says:

    Oh and I forgot to mention the obvious – these muffis look stunning!

  20. holler Says:

    I really do like the look of this Ricki! I have avocados in my fruit bowl just now. I was tempted into buying an avocado slicer at the weekend, but I wasn’t sure what I was going to make. I have now problems deciding now 🙂

  21. veganhomemade Says:

    Super yummy! I’ve mashed avocado into vegennaise before for a less homemade but quicky version, it is so good.


  22. […] Lucky Comestible III (6) Meets Flash in the Pan:  Avocado Mayonnaise Posted by Ricki Filed in baking, blog event, breakfast, dessert, fruit, lucky comestibles, muffins, recipes, vegan Tags: avocado, baking, breakfast, coconut, dairiy free, dessert, egg free, lemon, muffin, recipe, recipes, sugar free, vegan, wheat-free […]


  23. […] A savory pancake with occasional bursts of sweetness in juicy corn kernels, these are great with the accompanying tomato concasse for brunch or light dinner. Or use with other savory spreads such as hummus or avocado mayonnaise. […]


  24. […]  (which, of course, prompted me to head straight home and prepare spicy sweet potato fries with avocado mayonnaise, and now I’m hooked).  I’m sure you’ve got your own personal favorite fixings […]


Leave a comment