Flash in the Pan: Speedy Fruit Sorbet

March 14, 2008

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS HAS MOVED!

If you’re reading this page, you’ve landed on the old site.  Please visit the new location by clicking here–and don’t forget to update your readers and blogrolls!

As always, thanks for reading.  I look forward to seeing you at the shiny new Diet, Dessert and Dogs!

“Um, Mum, we are coming with you, aren’t we? Because (and sorry to have to tell you this), we actually have more fans than you do on this blog.”]

 

Sometimes, you just want to eat something now.  I’ve decided to offer a mini-post every once in a while, for a dish that comes together incredibly quickly, or else is so easy to make that no recipe is required.  Here’s my first “Flash in the Pan.”

Speedy Fruit Sorbet

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

berrysorbet.jpg

When I crave something sweet, creamy, and cold, this is my current indulgence.  It’s made almost entirely of fresh-frozen fruit, so there’s absolutely no guilt.  And it’s ready in about three minutes.  I’m loving this sorbet!

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE, PLEASE VISIT THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

17 Responses to “Flash in the Pan: Speedy Fruit Sorbet”

  1. Johanna Says:

    looks like a great idea – but I have never been a big ice cream fan and especially not in winter! Doesn’t it make you cold inside? Well, cold and healthy with all the fruit – love the bright colours of it (so much icecream is so pale)

  2. Ricki Says:

    Surprisingly, I made this because I just craved something smooth and cold after a very spicy dish we ate the other day. And I find this a fairly light dessert, since fruit digests so quickly.

  3. Romina Says:

    I must get myself an ice cream maker. This looks too good to pass up!

  4. Deb Schiff Says:

    Yummy! I have a bunch of frozen mangoes in the freezer. Must make later. Love the photo, too. Gorgeous. Have a wonderful weekend and don’t work too hard. 😀

  5. Lizzie Says:

    What a great idea! I need to test it out in mini batches in my trusty magic bullet 😉

  6. Vegan_Noodle Says:

    Great, now I want that right now!!

  7. Karen Says:

    Hi Ricki,

    You just inspired me with this recipe to buy the Kitchen Aid immersion hand blender. This sorbet will be the first thing I try!

    Karen

  8. TBC Says:

    Ricki,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and helping me discover your delightful little space.:-)

    The sorbet looks wonderful and it’s so easy to make too.
    You can do this with a food processor?! Wow!

  9. Courtney Says:

    You rock–I love it! That looks beautiful and sounds amazing. I bet it will come together really quickly in my vita-mix…I am making it tonight!

    Courtney

    Hmmm….for some reason it won’t let me post this–I’ll try once more…

  10. Lisa Says:

    What a fantastic idea. Quick and easy and I can just imagine how delicious it was. Thanks for sharing this bit of inspiration!

  11. Ricki Says:

    Romina,
    I actually made this in a food processor–much easier! But I bet it would work in the icecream maker, too 🙂 .

    Deb,
    I bet this would be great with mango as the main ingredient! Hope your weekend is good, too–enjoy the celebration! 🙂

    Lizzie,
    Would love to hear how this works in a Magic Bullet. I’ve been dying to get one for ages.

    Vegan Noodle,
    It would be my pleasure to whip some up for you. . . if only Houston weren’t so far away!

    Karen,
    I’d love to know whether this worked out with the hand blender. Did you try it?

    TBC,
    Thanks for visiting! I enjoyed reading your blog. Glad you like the sorbet!

    Courtney,
    I’ve read that a Vitamix can be used for this type of thing. . . and it really is worth a try, it’s light and delish! (And glad the 2nd try came through). 🙂

    Lisa,
    If you like sorbet, I think you’ll really enjoy this. I’m all for quick and easy!

  12. Karen Says:

    I tried this in my mini-food processor and it was fantastic! I used a little bit of brown rice syrup instead of agave. I think my banana wasn’t ripe enough -I just couldn’t wait. My hubby is going to love this. Thanks so much for posting!
    Karen

  13. Ricki Says:

    Karen,
    So glad you liked it! The first time I made it, I asked my HH if he wanted any and he said, “NO thanks.” Of course I still made him some and when he tasted it, he wanted half! So I’m sure your hubby will enjoy it, too. 🙂

  14. jenny wren Says:

    I love to do this for dessert. Sometimes I do it with just a frozen banana and a dash of vanilla, and it is still so unexpectedly delicious.

  15. Ricki Says:

    Jenny Wren,
    I love the simple banana flavor, too–first learned about that one in a raw cooking class (they made it in a super-powered juicer instead). It’s great. But sometimes, you just wanna have berries!


  16. […] use.  These frozen cubes generally work beautifully in smoothies or when I want to whip up some nearly-instant sorbet.  Sunday, I opted for a […]


  17. […] a veritable cornucopia! And if I feel desperate for sweets, there are always raw desserts like fruit sorbet, carob-cashew pudding, or LaRAW bars.  Gee, there’s just SO much choice, I might even have […]


Leave a comment