The Staff of the DDD Household*

July 1, 2008

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS HAS MOVED! PLEASE VISIT THE NEW SITE BY CLICKING HERE.

*No, we haven’t hired servants, silly! I’m talking about bread.

DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS has moved! 

If you’re reading this page, you’ve landed on the old site.  Please visit the new location by clicking here–and don’t forget to update your readers and blogrolls!

As always, thanks for reading.  I look forward to seeing you at the shiny new Diet, Dessert and Dogs!

“Um, Mum, we are coming with you, aren’t we? Because (and sorry to have to tell you this), we actually have more fans than you do on this blog.” 

Well, last night the HH and I returned from a pre-Canada Day junket to Montreal, where, along with the CFO and the Nurse and her husband, we took my dad out to dinner for his (you may wish to sit down) eighty-seventh birthday.  Eighty seven!  Much like George Burns when it comes to longevity (and, come to think of it, humor as well), my dad is one of those people who’s always eaten well and exercised daily (now, why wasn’t I lucky enough to inherit that body-care ethic?).  All that, and he also looks great for his age, sporting a full head of hair (his own, I might note). 

It was a lovely, albeit short, visit, with a brunch stop at one of my favorite Montreal restaurants, Aux Vivres, where the HH and I enjoyed smoothies, a “Plat Complet” (tofu scramble, tempeh bacon, salad, sweet potato wedges, and home-baked cornbread) and some amazing banana-chocolate pie to cap it all off.   In dire need of a walk after all the grub, we squeezed in some alone time to take in a few beats at the Montreal Jazz Festival, then meandered along rue Sainte-Catherine for some window shopping. After dinner with friends that involved much chatter and clinking of wine glasses, we headed back to Toronto yesterday morning and arrived home in good time (only 5 hours!).

Because of my peculiar dietary restrictions in recent years, I’ve learned when traveling to always tote along a cooler of food whenever I venture into unknown culinary territory.  This time, we lugged a veritable feast with us: leftover salad, bread, scones, and fruits from the previous week.  And with bar fridges now standard in most hotel rooms, I was able to keep the stash relatively fresh until departure time, so we could once again partake of the cooler’s bounty on our way home.  The best of which was Olive and Sundried Tomato Bread–baked by yours truly!

Now, many of you know that I have a dread fear of baking bread. Not only because I was diagnosed with candidiasis years ago and had to forgo the stuff (along with anything else that contained yeast, living or dead) for two full years. Not only because baking with yeast is an art as well as a craft, for which it sometimes takes years of practise to develop a true “feel” (as much as I like the idea of a machine, that isn’t “real” homemade bread to me). Not only because I was privileged to grow up in a house where we never once were served the soft styrofoam that is Wonder Bread; with an immigrant father and a Russian-descended mother, we had the real, peasant-stock, brown-as-clay, authentic stuff: dense, dark, moist and infused with with rye, molasses, and seeds. And (perhaps most especially), because my sole attempt at baking bread from scratch resulted in a loaf the top of which was so flat and heavy, it could have been called the Australopithecus of breads. 

So you see, there’s a good reason why I’m a tad bread-bashful. But this past weekend, we savored the remnants of a loaf I’d baked the previous week–a loaf which was already number two in a series. I may not have overcome my yeast phobia just yet, but in the meantime, I’ve discovered an alternative that does a mean impersonation and is, in my opinion, maybe even better tasting.  The recipe is a little less intimidating than yeast-based breads, and a little more foolproof. 

Its secret ingredient?  Beer! (Besides, it’s Canada Day today, and beer is just so. . . Canadian).

I’ve never been much of a beer drinker (unless you count that one starry-eyed lunch at the local pub with my mentor, when I naively attempted to keep pace with his more practised consumption. . . 13 beers later, I lost track of the number, but I do remember some fairly maudlin entries in my journal that evening).  I have, however, been familiar with the concept of beer bread for quite some time. I first learned about this delicacy from the CFO way back in the 1980s, when she read about it in Bon Appétit magazine and immediately proceeded to bake a basic beer-based loaf (which she should have sold along with seashells down by the seashore, but that would have been one too many tongue-twisters in the same sentence).

I don’t know its origin, but beer bread is definitely considered a classic in the recipe canon by now. Since I use spelt in most of my baking, however, I decided to alter the generic version just a tad. Spelt is both more hearty and more heavy than regular all purpose flour, so I included some other full-bodied additions for more gustatory dimension to the bread, tossing in some chopped olives and sundried tomatoes, then sprinkling the top with rosemary. For the second incarnation, I added dried basil right into the batter instead.

And how did it turn out? As it happened, my friend the Eternal Optimist joined us for dinner that night, before she and I headed off to a movie (Sex and the City, finally; yes, the audience was entirely female, yes, I thoroughly enjoyed it, and yes, I’m revealing my advanced age by admitting this). Along with a dinner of lentil-pistachio patties, raw kale salad, and spicy sweet potato “fries“, I served up some freshly baked olive and sundried tomato bread. Well, the EO couldn’t stop raving about it!  With a moist, yeasty interior studded with salty, briny olives and chewy tomato, the bread provides a perfect balance between rustic and au courant.  Though I’m not much of a sandwich lover, I could happily subsist on this bread alone. 

With its dead-easy method and incredible final product, this loaf has eradicated my fear of bread baking.  At the same time, however, it’s also eliminated any need to venture into yeast-based varieties. . . I’d be happy to consume just beer bread for the rest of my days.  And even though I still have no desire to drink the stuff, each time I pour a bottleful into my bread batter, I feel just a little more patriotic.    

Happy Canada Day, all.  And to our American cousins, both literal and figurative–hope you all have a wonderful July 4th holiday! 

Beer Bread with Olives and Sundried Tomatoes

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE,PLEASE VIEW THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

This is a bread with substance, one that will fill your belly and satisfy your taste buds at the same time. Because spelt flour can dry out quickly, I stored this in a plastic bag in the fridge.  If you don’t consume the bread within about 4 days, wrap the rest and freeze it for later.

TO VIEW THE COMPLETE RECIPE,PLEASE VIEW THIS PAGE ON THE NEW DIET, DESSERT AND DOGS, BY CLICKING HERE.

14 Responses to “The Staff of the DDD Household*”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    You?? Bread-bashful?? Doesn’t look that way to me with THAT bread!! Your bread looks FANTASTIC (and hooray for no yeast). I’m STILL intimidated by “regular” bread recipes though, for fear that they won’t rise, haha.

  2. Celine Says:

    beautiful! nothing tastier than beer.
    I mean, beer bread of course. yeah. beer bread. 🙂

  3. Courtney Says:

    Wow–a bread you don’t have to knead sounds good to me! And spelt flour too?! I love it!

    Happy birthday to your father, and I hope you have/had a happy Canada Day!

    Courtney

  4. shellyfish Says:

    Your Monrtreal trip sounds tasty & fun- joyeux anniversaire to your papa! (Mine’s a bit younger, but hasn’t had much in the line of hair in a while…) 🙂

    This bread recipe is soooo going to be made! Looks & sounds fab! Would be a great cocktail or sandwich bread!

    Happy Canada Day to you!

  5. Lucy Says:

    Your octogenerian father sounds wonderful. That’s where you get your energy from, I reckon.

    Delicious bread. Happy holiday – I wore a red and white scarf yesterday, in honour of you guys.

  6. Ricki Says:

    VeggieGirl,
    Yes, me, VERY bread-bashful–and for much the same reason as you. But the no-yeast is definitely a bonus 😉

    Celine,
    Ha ha! Had you said, “gin and tonic bread,” well, maybe then I’d have to agree. . . 😉

    Courtney,
    Thanks so much, and for your good wishes to my dad! I hadn’t thought of it that way, but the no-kneading sure is a bonus!

    Shellyfish,
    Thanks so much, and to you, too (even though you’re not in Canada any more). Et merci on behalf of my pere! (Okay, I think I’m tapped out on my French, now!!) 😉

    Lucy,
    Well, to tell the truth, my dad actually has MUCH more energy than I. . . I can only hope to be half as healthy at his age! I love the fact you wore that scarf–really, you must have been a Canadian in another life, don’t you think? 🙂

  7. Johanna Says:

    beer bread sounds like a great way to celebrate canada day – and a great way to dip your toe in the water of bread baking! I haven’t made it for some time now but remember the joy of finding a few cups of flour and a bottle of beer made a delicious bread – seems quite miraculous!

  8. veganhomemade Says:

    That is one very fancy beer bread! The beer bread of my youth had four ingredients – beer, self rising flour, sugar and salt. And I was taught to use the cheapest, lightest beer possible. Now that I think of it, that was probably just to keep the beer from being drank before my mom could make the bread.

  9. jessy Says:

    beer bread?! i can’t think of anything more awesome! that’s so glorious! and your bread looks beautiful! i would totally eat the entire load in one sitting. i smiles at those little green olives in there! i love olives. and beer. and bread. ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh hooray!

  10. shellyfish Says:

    I hope I didn’t make you blush! I just like giving credit where credit is due and I love your bars! 🙂


  11. Your Montreal trip sounds/looks super-fun… and I want a slice of that hot, yummy-looking bread.

  12. aTxVegn Says:

    I still dream of traveling to Canada one of these days. Your trip sounds so lovely. And happy birthday to your dad! I’ll bet he is adorable.

    I’m crazy for sundried tomatoes so your bread looks really great.

  13. Ricki Says:

    Johanna,
    I felt the miracle of this bread, too. . . I think this is definitely a keeper, though I still dream of yeast bread. . .

    Veganhomemade,
    Amazing how you can build on this recipe! Since you don’t really taste the beer, I’m pretty sure just about any type would do as well!

    Jessy,
    Thanks so much! And yes, we had to restrain ourselves from eating it all as well. 🙂

    Shellyfish,
    Well, I guess I DID blush, but am still grateful! And glad you like them. 🙂

    CCV,
    Happy to provide as much bread as you’d like next time you’re in Toronto!

    aTxVegn,
    Oh, I hope you do make it to Canada (and Toronto would be great–I’ll even bake for you 🙂 ) And my dad described as “adorable”? I think that’s a first!! (Though we in our family do think he’s kinda cute. . .) 😉

  14. lindsaynixon Says:

    you had me desiring at “beer bread” then you had to go and add other ingredients I’m addicted too…

    If I didn’t hate the smell of yeast I’d make more breads… like this one… YUM


Leave a comment